We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Pasadena to your Saves list
Hilton Pasadena
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168 South Los Robles Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pasadena
Bakersfield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is near Paseo (shopping center), restaurants, and Gelson's (terrific grocery store). All walking distance. I've stayed here 3 or 4 times. The first few times, it was great. The room was spacious. The last time, we were in a smaller, accessible room. The bathroom door was a sliding one. The kind that doesn't lock. It was pain to keep sliding that door. The shower was a pain, too, because it didn't drain well, and since it was an accessible room, there was no barrier between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. Wet bathroom floors are not fun.

Anyway, not sure why they stuck us in an accessible room with an inconvenient sliding bathroom door. Probably because I didn't pay full price. I'm sure they had better king rooms not occupied. They didn't look busy at all.

Four stars because for what I paid, I guess it wasn't a big deal. Can't really beat the location, though there is a Westin on the other side of Colorado that is much nicer overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
First off I certainly appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Pasadena Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced on your recent stay. We strive to fill every guest’s request for room accommodations. However rest assured the room type was not related to the price you might have paid. We will check the drainage in those rooms. I thank you for pointing it out.
My staff and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    199
    131
    38
    22
See reviews for
84
102
45
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel over thanksgiving for 3 nights. My partner and I were very happy with rooms - large, comfortable beds with nice clean bathroom and great air con.
Room service was pricey, but great food.

I was extremely dissapointed with the front desk staff and their lack of organization and liaising with other staff members when it came to delivering a package to us.
We were notified the night before check-out that we had a package which had been delivered, waiting at the front desk. We went to collect it upon check-out and no one had any idea what we were talking about.
I waited more than half hour at the desk while they called everyone in the hotel, searched every drawer, looked in the cloak room (and took me in there 3 times to double check) and searched their offices...
All it would have taken was some organization and proper handling, for me to receive the package.
... I left the hotel without it, and they took my details and said they would call when they found it... I'm still waiting for the phone call, and it's now mid December...
If I ignored this mishap I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I travel pretty extensively for business. I was rather excited to take this trip to Pasadena as I was going to be staying in a revitalized part of down town. While the shops and restaurants were fantastic, the Hilton here is less impressive. I don't know if it was the odd appearance of what was probably, at some point, a kichen area or wet bar, now stripped to it's barest in appearance, or the odd, institutional look of the bathroom.....hotel kind of had a creepy feel. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. Not impressed with the suite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
First and foremost, I truly appreciate your taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us. Your comments on the odd appearance of the lobby bar and bathroom is well taken and will be addressed during our next renovation. Secondly, I’m always happy to hear our staff was lovely and very helpful, and it makes me tremendously proud of them and the service they provide. Lastly, I hope you consider the Pasadena Hilton again on your next travel plans to Pasadena, and my staff and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Happy Holidays
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The room had a balcony and was very comfortable. The in room coffee was Lavaza, my favorite. The room service was also good. I did call the front desk to swap out my iron for one with a burst of steam but they don't have those in the hotel. The breakfast was delicious, I would recommend the buffet. My co-worker and I ordered off the menu, a cheese omelette and pancakes, which came to nearly $40.00. a little expensive but the food was awesome. You will really like this hotel and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
What wonderful comments on your experience, thank you! It makes me very proud of our culinary staff knowing you had an awesome dining experience in room service and breakfast. They will certainly receive kudos from me. So happy to hear you really like our hotel and staff, we look forward to your return.

Happy Holidays,

CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here in Nov 2012 while visiting USC. The hotel is located in a relatively quite area close to the downtown. It is an older property that has either been well maintained or renovated fairly recently. The room was quiet and comfortable and room service was fast and the food freshly prepared. I had a burger for dinner that was juicy and clearly hand formed from fresh ground meat, rather than a premade patty. Breakfast was similarly good. There are no strong negatives other than the cost of parking and the lack of free internet (unless you are an Hhonors member which I am). These days, I feel strongly that all properties should offer free interet since many of the midrange hotels do (including Hilton Garden Inns, for example). I didn't appreciate paying $18 to park either but this is not a Hilton-specific problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We very much appreciate your taking the time to write a wonderful review of your recent experience at the Hilton Pasadena Hotel. Our Executive Chef, his Culinary Team, and I feel very proud to hear about your positive dining experience.
Our hotel is continually going through some refinements and renovation, and I’m pleased to know you noticed. One of the refinements we are addressing is the internet service, which we hope will happen soon. As far as the parking, our rates are comparable to other hotels.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Other reviews had me worried, but the room was clean and very nice. Parking fees are excessive, but safe and free on street parking is available one block southeast of the hotel.

Only issue was that room 301 was adjacent to the elevator shaft so noisy. Since it was only a one night stay, didn't request room change.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I’m happy to know that you took the chance to stay with us despite the reviews, and that you found our hotel clean and very nice, and the parking, safe. We value your comments and appreciate your feedback about the noise from the elevator. We are testing a room insulation product to correct this issue.
We know you have choices when choosing a hotel, we appreciate your business and my staff and I look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times already and it's a good hotel. The staff is good and friendly. The location is perfect, close to "downtown" Pasadena. The rooms are good, the airco can be a bit loud but with earplugs that's fine. Breakfast is typical, but good, a tad expensive if you are not HH. The pool is not super but good enough for a refreshing dive after a day at work. The gym is good, new equipment and good other facilities. All in all this is a fine hotel for the business travel. It offers everything you need at a decent price, parking is a bit expensive at 18 USD. The bar has a basic and adequate menu if you are not in the mood to go in to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
First and foremost, I would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Pasadena a number of times for your business accommodations; we know you have choices out there. Secondly, it’s great to hear our staff is good and friendly; we do take great pride in our service. I am certain my staff will be happy to know your comments. We are also very appreciative of your feedback that our facilities meet your satisfaction. Our location in proximity to downtown is one that our guests really like.
My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Pasadena.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Pasadena

Address: 168 South Los Robles Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#4 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Pasadena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Hilton Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.