We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice older property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Pasadena

Save Saved
You added Hilton Pasadena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Pasadena
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168 South Los Robles Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 28 hotels in Pasadena
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“nice older property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here in Nov 2012 while visiting USC. The hotel is located in a relatively quite area close to the downtown. It is an older property that has either been well maintained or renovated fairly recently. The room was quiet and comfortable and room service was fast and the food freshly prepared. I had a burger for dinner that was juicy and clearly hand formed from fresh ground meat, rather than a premade patty. Breakfast was similarly good. There are no strong negatives other than the cost of parking and the lack of free internet (unless you are an Hhonors member which I am). These days, I feel strongly that all properties should offer free interet since many of the midrange hotels do (including Hilton Garden Inns, for example). I didn't appreciate paying $18 to park either but this is not a Hilton-specific problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We very much appreciate your taking the time to write a wonderful review of your recent experience at the Hilton Pasadena Hotel. Our Executive Chef, his Culinary Team, and I feel very proud to hear about your positive dining experience.
Our hotel is continually going through some refinements and renovation, and I’m pleased to know you noticed. One of the refinements we are addressing is the internet service, which we hope will happen soon. As far as the parking, our rates are comparable to other hotels.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    186
    120
    36
    20
See reviews for
73
93
43
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Other reviews had me worried, but the room was clean and very nice. Parking fees are excessive, but safe and free on street parking is available one block southeast of the hotel.

Only issue was that room 301 was adjacent to the elevator shaft so noisy. Since it was only a one night stay, didn't request room change.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I’m happy to know that you took the chance to stay with us despite the reviews, and that you found our hotel clean and very nice, and the parking, safe. We value your comments and appreciate your feedback about the noise from the elevator. We are testing a room insulation product to correct this issue.
We know you have choices when choosing a hotel, we appreciate your business and my staff and I look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times already and it's a good hotel. The staff is good and friendly. The location is perfect, close to "downtown" Pasadena. The rooms are good, the airco can be a bit loud but with earplugs that's fine. Breakfast is typical, but good, a tad expensive if you are not HH. The pool is not super but good enough for a refreshing dive after a day at work. The gym is good, new equipment and good other facilities. All in all this is a fine hotel for the business travel. It offers everything you need at a decent price, parking is a bit expensive at 18 USD. The bar has a basic and adequate menu if you are not in the mood to go in to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
First and foremost, I would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Pasadena a number of times for your business accommodations; we know you have choices out there. Secondly, it’s great to hear our staff is good and friendly; we do take great pride in our service. I am certain my staff will be happy to know your comments. We are also very appreciative of your feedback that our facilities meet your satisfaction. Our location in proximity to downtown is one that our guests really like.
My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Pasadena.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a nice hotel and recently renovated. The rooms are adequate and everything works properly. I didn't use the cafe but there's coffee in the room. My only complaint is the same for all large hotels in big cities. I hate paying 18.00 to park!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for commenting about your recent experience at the Hilton Pasadena Hotel. My staff and I appreciate your comments as constructive feedback and will as a team collectively review.
Please know the City of Pasadena has no overnight parking, our parking rates are comparable to the other hotels nearby.
My staff and I look forward to welcoming you on your return visit to the Hilton Pasadena.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The entire hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was pleasantly clean. The bed lined and towels are fresh and white. The pillows were very comfortable. I recommend this hotel.

Negatives: $18 per night parking fee and $15 per night fee for WiFi in the room. WiFi is free in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I’m happy to know the cleanliness of the bathroom and the fresh linen gave you a positive impression on the overall cleanliness of our hotel. We take great pride in the hotel’s cleanliness and service and indeed it makes me feel very proud that our guests, like you, noticed it.
Please know the City of Pasadena has no overnight parking, our parking rates are comparable to the other hotels nearby.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Pasadena Hotel.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in Pasadena for an evening and although I liked the area, I was not wowed by the hotel. The hotel was rather average. The people were friendly enough and the rooms were OK, but there was nothing that stood out about this hotel for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit at the Hilton Pasadena Hotel. We value every comment from our guests. While the hotel did not wow you, I feel very proud that you experienced my staff to be very friendly; I will ensure the staff is aware of your kind feedback.
We hope you give us another opportunity to experience our hotel and the amenities we offer and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 night stay at the Hilton Pasadena in January. From check-in to check-out, we were made to feel at home. All of the staff were courteous and helpful throughout our stay. We loved the location - within walking distance to just about everything we wanted to see/do. I cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPasadena, General Manager at Hilton Pasadena, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Very pleased to read about your great experience while visiting our hotel. I will certainly share your wonderful comments with our staff. We too cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Thank you!

Warm regards,

CARL SPRAYBERRY I General Manager
HILTON PASADENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Pasadena

Address: 168 South Los Robles Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#7 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Pasadena 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hilton Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Hilton Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.