We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your ear plugs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Pasadena to your Saves list
Sheraton Pasadena
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 East Cordova Street, Pasadena, CA 91101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Take your ear plugs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel it's self is great, rooms are nice enough, food is good and the location is great but it's just so noisy!
I was on the second floor and had the side road running down past my room, the noise from the cars was really quite annoying, the balcony doors do very little to filter out the noise.
There seems to be a constant number of house keeping staff in the hallway standing around talking at all hours of the day, shouting to each other all the time and chatting right outside my room. Clearly they have a job to do and this creates noise and I accept that, however the standing around chatting outside my bedroom door was a real annoyance. There didn't seem to be a moment of complete silence in that room for even a minute. Not a very relaxing stay I'm afraid.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    195
    89
    30
    33
See reviews for
96
100
35
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This reviewer had stayed at this hotel twice in the last 6 months, giving seminars both times.
The first time, at Halloween 2012, the staff was dressed up for the holiday.
THEY MET ALL THE SPECIAL NEEDS OF THIS REVIEWER. This reviewer has medical concerns, and asks for a refrigerator ensuite as well as being close to the seminar rooms.
The room they gave this reviewer was quite acceptable, comfortable, and clean. The only issue at Halloween was that the sleeping room required this reviewer to walk down a landing (inside the room) about 5 steps to get to the bed. The bathroom? Up those same 5 steps.
This reviewer does not "do" stairs due to a heart condition.
This last stay- 3/11/2013 and 3/12/2013- was equally wonderful. This reviewer asked for a room close to the elevator this time (got room #335). It was marginally noisy (shoot, this reviewer ASKED for the room close to the elevator) but again, the fridge was ensuite.
The bed? Comfy. The amenities in the room? More than adequate. The towels? Eh, not bad. Not as soft as would be desired, but clean and fresh.
The staff- from housekeeping to the banquets staff to the front desk were all professional, attendant to all the needs of this reveiwer and attendees at the seminar, and were incredibly friendly.
The staff RAN to take care of the needs of all persons. This reviewer feels that this reviewer could have asked the staff at the Sheraton to wash this reviewer's rental car, and the staff would probably have done so!
You will pay a fee to park in the adjacent structure, but that's not the gripe. In Pasadena, expect to not find "free parking."
The gripe?
Hotels have got to stop charging $9.95 a day for internet access. This reviewer is amazed that this still happens. This is usually an issue with hotels carring the Marriott medallion, and it is silly for the Sheraton Pasadena to continue this antiquated practice.
One can go to a Starbucks and McDonalds and find "free wifi." One would think that the hotels (the Seraton Pasadena included) would want their guests to stay at the hotel, not go out seeking free wi-fi. Better to have guests spend the bucks at the Sheraton restaurants and bars and provide free wifi than have the guests leave the property.
If this reviewer comes to Pasadena for pleasure or business, indeed, this will be the venue to chose again.
They "do it right."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your detailed review with us and our future guests. Your comments for our guestrooms and helpful associates are greatly appreciated. Customer service is very important to us here at the Sheraton Pasadena and we are pleased to hear our staff exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for providing this valuable feedback and we do hope that you will consider our hotel again on your next visit to Pasadena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton Pasadena hotel when I was there for a conference. In particular, I found their beds to be comfortable (I slept very well), and the gym to be well equipped with modern treadmills, etc.

But what I would like to highlight here is that the service was exemplary even after my stay had ended. When I called to request help with an invoice from my stay, the senior front office supervisor, Jason Brown, was extremely courteous, taking his time to figure out what I needed and following through promptly, even though my request ended up being a bit more complicated than expected. These days, i don't take service like that for granted.

I would recommend a stay at this Sheraton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week and were very happy with our room. It had everything we needed, including very, very comfortable beds and a huge flat-screen TV. Yes, the hotel is on the older side, but it is still a very nice stay & so conveniently located to everything Pasadena has to offer. The staff was very friendly and I will definitely consider another stay at this hotel in the future. Parking is high, but not any higher than other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us at the Sheraton Pasadena. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comments regarding our clean and well-appointed guestrooms and additional amenities. The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed is designed to provide our guests with the much needed rest and comfort they need while traveling away from home. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here while in town for the Rock and Roll Half Marathon. The staff was extremely courteous and the room was very clean. The only two downsides that we found were the $18 a night fee to park in the garage and the lack of free wifi in the room. The room had a mini fridge, the bathroom was extremely clean and modern (great shower pressure as well), we were able to use our phones as remotes for the television, and the location was located within walking distance from countless restaurants and shops. We would definitely stay here again while in Pasadena.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Congratulations on completing the Pasadena Rock and Roll Half Marathon; that is an impressive feat. Thank you for sharing your review and your recommendation of the Sheraton Pasadena Hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the courteous staff, clean guestrooms, modern bathrooms and additional in room amenities. It is very exciting to hear that you took advantage of the new Lodgenet App and were able to use your phone as a remote; it is a fun innovative way to watch the TV. Thank you for sharing our convenient location with our future travelers! We are very grateful for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Pasadena Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I just finished a two-night stay at the Sheraton Pasadena. I was in town to run the Pasadena Rock and Roll Half-Marathon. The hotel was the perfect location for the race, as it is adjacent to the Pasadena Convention Center, a block from Paseo and just a few from Colorado. The staff were all friendly and accommodating. My only real complaint is really about the 'state' of the hotel. This hotel is outdated and old. The beds were very uncomfortable, wallpaper had stains on it, our television didn't work 50% of the time and the housekeeping staff walked in our room 3 different times, when we were in it!!!! If don't know that the ratings reflect this property accurately, but it is what it is. I highly urge the ownership group to invest some money in updating this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Congratulations on completing the Pasadena Rock and Roll Half-Marathon, we are very impressed by your determination! We are glad that the hotel was in a perfect location to the race and hopefully you were able to explore more of Pasadena after the competition. Thank you for your insights regarding the guestrooms, these comments will be very helpful in determining where future renovation monies should be spent. We are disappointed to hear that the housekeepers interrupted you in your guestroom; I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping and we will look into this matter immediately. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

As a Starwood Preferred Guest, I frequently find glossy emails for Sheratons in paradise locations pinging my Inbox. However, far more Sheratons will be like the one in Pasadena where I recently stayed: a bit old but perfectly pleasant for a stay (won at $80/£50 on Priceline). I don’t care if the fittings are old so long as everything works more or less as it should. The photos of the room on Tripadvisor reflect what the hotel is like.

My room had 2 double beds which made it quite large for me as a single traveller. The bed was as comfortable as any I have experienced at any hotel. Wonderful. The room had everything else that any traveller would expect, with the exception (for this was a Standard room) of a safe, which was a bit of a nuisance. There were no cleanliness issues at all. No problem with noise either. The aircon was old and not terribly efficient but it was cool enough outside for me to open the windows and cool the room that way.

Not many people seems to take breakfast or dinner at the hotel which is a pity as both were pretty enjoyable.

Service throughout the hotel was very good. One day in the lobby my server from the previous evening (Rene?) greeted me by name which I rather liked.

The Sheraton is situated 5 minutes walk from the Gold Line Metro trains that go into downtown LA every few minutes. Old Pasadena with its wonderful shopping is about 5 minutes walk away. (I had what I think might have been the best steak of my life at AKA- An Amercian Bistro.) There is also a large open air mall very close to the hotels. Pasadena is quite an up-market place with some attractions around it that would be ideal for a lazy weekend vacation. Spectacularly clean as well: try finding litter on the sidewalk. It is not great as a base for seeing LA proper especially if you don’t want to drive.

I’m a bit puzzled why this Sheraton doesn’t have slightly better ratings. Four stars from me out of five because of the absent in-room safe. Whilst it’s not OTT luxurious, if you want a solidly comfortable hotel for a business stay or vacation you can’t go wrong here. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: There is an open-air swimming pool, so if you like your peace and quiet and the weather is warm you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to connect with us and to share your review. We are very appreciative of guest feedback and enjoy reading reviews from guests who experienced all that the hotel and the local area has to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding the guestrooms, comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, and convenient location in which our hotel is to local attractions in downtown Pasadena. In addition, I have shared your feedback regarding the cuisine and service in the restaurants with our Food & Beverage team. We appreciate your recommendation for in room safes, we have safes in a portion of our guestrooms and will be added safes to all rooms in the near future. Thank you again for your review and your recommendation to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pasadena

Address: 303 East Cordova Street, Pasadena, CA 91101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pasadena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the beautiful Sheraton Pasadena Hotel, ideally located within walking distance of the abundant shopping, dining, and entertainment options that Old Town Pasadena is renowned for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.