We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pasadena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Pasadena to your Saves list
Sheraton Pasadena
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 East Cordova Street, Pasadena, CA 91101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is located in a nice location of Pasadena, rear of the shopping center (the Paseo). It is walking distance to the Paseo which includes restaurants, movie theater, ice skating rink, and shops. The only downfall, you have to pay for parking your vehicle $10-15 per night, very slow elevators, and there is no continental breakfast. Bottomline, you are definitely paying for the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    234
    116
    36
    39
See reviews for
117
121
42
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our extended family stayed a long weekend here and apapreciated the staff enormously. Our arrivals were staggered but all rooms were on one credit card - no problem. We needed a large table at breakfast at the last moment - no problem. We needed a room to bring local folks to for a meeting after dinner - no problem. Driving directions to another town - no problem. From the fellows who meet you at the front door to the staff in the breakfast/happy hour bar, the employees were energetic.

All of our rooms were on the same corridor, and all had outdoor patios. The hotel itself was quiet, despite the fact that at the convention center next door they were staging a large telethon with nationally known stars - the production folks and some celebrities were staying at the hotel but we all seemed to be treated with the same cordiality. We used the pool and found all the facilities very clean. The internet access is conveniently located in the lobby but shielded with a privacy screen that is attractive and utilitarian.

We easily walked the two blocks to "old town" Pasadena where there are many choices of restaurants and pubs. The family will return in January and most likely book into this hotel. It's sort of sandwiched into the space between the street and the convention center, so there aren't great views or a dramatic entrance, but it was a very relaxed, welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many many times over the last 7 years, Its a 4 star hotel located in old town pasadena. Its probably geared towards business travellers, however all things considered, this hotel makes a great choice for a base in pasadena. The thing that ALWAYS stands out for me is the staff, and the service. They are extremely genuine, friendly, accommodating, and service orientated. The facilities at the hotel are good, gym, wifi, business centre, pool, bar, a million tv channels, etc etc etc .....For those who dont know LA, Pasadena is probably not an area you would chose if vacationing in LA, just due to its location. However.....if you are staying in the area I would 100% recommend this hotel

Room Tip: As the floors get higher the rooms get smaller, and the hotel is only 5 floors high......so basicall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel itself is decent enough. The room was just fine, everything from comfy pillows to good bathroom amenities (everyone hates bad shampoo- no?). But where this place failed was customer service.

So first we get there early and ask if there is a room. No surprise, but he says no. Not a problem we say, but we're here for a wedding (which they know based on the reservation) so is there a way to let us know if a room opens up early so we can get it in and start getting ready. No, we can't do that. Alright- no seems to be a little more popular here than it should be. We ask once more, and he writes our name down on a scrap piece of paper- how's that for inspiring confidence.

The hotel we discover has a gym. Great- we'll get a quick workout in while we wait but oh wait, it requires you to access it with a key. So we go back to our favorite front desk guy and inquire about the gym. "Yep, we've got one." I'm waiting for more, but that's all he has. Well, can we work out in it? He tells us no, it's for guests only. We've got a reservation, we're going to be guests in 2 hours but that isn't enough.

Moments later, while we are sitting in the lobby and he has gone on break, someone comes to check in and the woman who replaced him looks into the system and alas, can check this guy in. We go up, ask her if we can get checked in and she hits a few keys and says, of course- we've got some rooms!

I could go on, but they also ended up screwing the reservation up and instead of putting a room for each member of the wedding party that got a room, they just put us all in one room. And while that might have been fun, it wasn't in the cards and so we had to get them to sort that out which took forever. Then when we checked out the next day, the billing was all mixed up, and they emailed us a receipt for someone who wasn't us. We called, asked for the right receipt and guess what... yep, they sent a receipt again that was incorrect.

You expect more from a Starwood property. Again, the room itself was fine but there were enough customer service lapses and lack of concern about those lapses to earn this place my lowest rating. And I am usually pretty generous with the ratings! There are simply too many other good hotels in the area for someone to settle for the service you get here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for the Breeders Cup, so it's difficult to comment on the price: it was very expensive, but in fairness, everything was expensive that week (and the Hilton was almost $200 more per night!). Nevertheless, it's a nice, bright clean hotel and the front desk staff was very helpful and professional, and we felt that it was a perfectly good deal for the money. We decided to upgrade to the Club Floor, and it was well worth the price. The breakfast and evening snacks are well worth it, and it makes for a more relaxing experience.

The room was spacious and comfortable. I was a bit surprised by some of the mediocre reviews I'd read previously: I'm a very season and extremely fussy traveler, and was concerned that it would be a "tired" hotel. I didn't find this to be the case at all.

It's impossible to get around own conveniently-- it's L.A., essentially-- and an added bonus of the hotel was the access to both their shuttle, and to a car service (and Vic, the wonderful driver!). We used both services several times. Our big mistake was not arranging the car service from LAX: upon our arrival, we took a taxi to the hotel, which was insanely expensive, and it would have been substantially less expensive to have called the hotel and pre-arranged for the car to have met us at the airport. We took the car service for our return flight, and it was very pleasant. The shuttle was super-convenient, and very friendly drivers both nights!

The location is also ideal. There is a huge shopping district (Old Pasadena) just a few blocks away, but there is a Macy's just a stone's throw from the hotel, so if you're like me and need a last-minute handbag or pair of socks, voila!

I would happily stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Very nicely kept property next to convention center and heart of Old Town. Hit Gelson's Market for casual eats or the Paseo Colorado for restaurants, shops and movies. Through the Paseo to Europane for the
Best coffee, breakfast, lunch and naked goods. A few blocks from the heart of Old Town for more shops and restaurants!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

For the price paid, it was just average value. Location is good. Parking is expensive at $18 ; it was not clear to me whether it would be cheaper to pay the convention rate for night for $10 directly to parking instead of hotel but front desk said it would be charged twice once past midnight. do not know if that is true. room was excellent; had fridge but no microwave. ask for room overlooking the front or Cordova St and not back or convention center. Great location. Expensive breakfast with average food. The staff did what they were supposed to but were not friendly or helpful. For example, there was NEW YORK TIMES at front desk and I asked for one and checkout clerk grudgingly and reluctantly gave me one. My starwood rewards membership was never acknowledged and i was denied an upgrade to club floor even though i had called earlier to request one. I found the bed comfortable

Room Tip: Ask for room facing front or Cordova St and not back or convention center
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience l, Manager at Sheraton Pasadena, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#7 of 30 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#5 of 30 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.7 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pasadena

Address: 303 East Cordova Street, Pasadena, CA 91101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pasadena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the beautiful Sheraton Pasadena Hotel, ideally located within walking distance of the abundant shopping, dining, and entertainment options that Old Town Pasadena is renowned for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.