We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Pasadena to your Saves list
The Westin Pasadena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 N Los Robles, Pasadena, CA 91101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

The hotel is located very conveniently both to city government and downtown Pasadena. The service is excellent and the restaurant is first rate. I have stayed here several times and always enjoy this hotel

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinPasadena, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Thank you for the great review and sharing with all to read. It confirms once again that we not only have a great location, but first rate service as well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year....Jonathan LItvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    329
    122
    55
    34
See reviews for
170
237
69
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Would be happy to recommend the Westin, very nice hotel and well located near to the shopping district on Colombus. Comfortable if slightly small room but perfect for an overnight trip.

Definitely worth a visit to the Huntington Library while in Pasadena, gardens are very tranquil.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinPasadena, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Thank you for recognizing us as well as letting other Trip Advisor fans know what you have dicovered and that is that we have a great location! Our standard rooms are all different in their configurations, but on average are 245 square feet. Regardless, I am sorry if it felt small and would like to let you know that we offer other room types that might feel bigger on a future visit. Please feel free to contact me directly should that be of interest or if you have any questions. Otherwise thank you for writing and sharing what was a very positive experience. Happy New Year! Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

My company held about 20 meetings at the Westin last year and will be scheduling about the same amount in 2011. Their service from the front desk, to the banquet captains and servers to the sales and catering department is way above and beyond. "My wish is their command!!"

Everyone is so friendly and greets me by name - I feel like I'm part of their family!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinPasadena, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
You are most certainly part of the family and I am thrilled to read that we have made you feel that way through our outstanding service. I cannot thank you enough for writing in regard to a business experience versus many that write regarding leisure. It is testament to the fact that we can deliver on the promise no matter what the ocassion is and that our service is second to none. We look forward to a continued partnership in the upcoming year and wish you a healthy and happy New Year! Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

The bottom sheet for our bed was almost wide enough to be tucked under the mattress. As a result, after turning over a few times in our sleep the bottom sheet was all rumpled up under us. I woke up each night and tried to smooth out the sheet, but as soon as we got back in bed, it wadded up again. The rumpled bed made for poor sleep. We discovered in the morning that the sheet only had about one inch of material available to tuck in under the sides of the mattress. We didn't pay Westin prices to sleep in Motel 6 style linens!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinPasadena, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
While I may not convince you otherwise, our linen and Heavenly Bed are amongst the finest and have been recognized as the leader in our industry. That said, it would only feel that way if the bed were assembled correctly and it appears by your comments that this was not the case. There may very well be a training issue to be addressed on our end and I am so sorry that you were burdened with what might very well be a learning opportunity for us and not a true defect in the bed. As I referenced to another guest, please feel free to contact me directly should you want to discuss further, otherwise please trust that you have my most sincere apology. I am glad that all other aspects of the hotel and your stay went well and we hope to welcome you back again in the New Year....Joanthan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

The Westin is wonderful in many ways. I want to make clear that the service was excellent in every way. From the valet parkers to the concierge desk to the front desk, all were wonderful. The hotel is well located, clean, festively decorated for Christmas, and the restaurant food was good (especially the crab cakes). The room has a pleasant decor, large work desk, two nice sized closets with the coffee bar in between, a nice view of Pasadena City Hall, and now I have to talk about the bed. The bed felt comfortable, and was covered in a huge, heavy comforter (which was too much for me), but the problem was the sheet and pad covering the mattresss: the sheet is not big enough to cover the huge "heavenly" mattress, so during the night, if one turns over at all, eventually, everything becomes untucked and is a mess. I had to get up twice in the middle of the night to try to remake the bed. But it was no good, because the sheets are too small. They barely can be tucked in, and they don't cover the end of the mattress, so if you are tall, your feet touch the bare mattress. This is completely unacceptable for a Westin that brags about its heavenly bed. By morning, the bed was complete chaos, all sheets untucked and twisted. I probably got about three hours of sleep the first night due to these problems.

In spite of everything I loved about this hotel, the bed situation would prevent me from coming back. Plenty of hotels use fitted sheets, even on their very deep, huge mattresses. I cannot see why Westin can't do that, so that everything stays in place.

I would really love to hear from the GM and the head of housekeeping about this.

Also, when I checked in, there was a layer of dust over all surfaces, including phones, bedside tables, the work desk, etc. but when I called for housekeeping to clean the room better, they did so right away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinPasadena, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
I am thrilled to hear that there were many things that you loved about the hotel and that the food and service were second to none. That said I was sorry to learn that while we were able to address the dust in your room while you were here, we could not have done the same for the sheets. The Heavenly Bed has stood the test of time for more than ten years and while it does not use a bottom fitted sheet, it does use an appropriately sized bottom sheet. It is evident to me that there was an error made in assembling your bed and I am truly sorry for that. Nonetheless, I am reachable at the hotel to discuss further should that be of interest. Our number is 626-792-2727 and the hotel can easily locate me at any point. That aside, I thank you for the kind comments and apologize for where we missed the mark. Remain well and Happy New Year! Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

My husband and I had an unbelievable experience staying at the Westin in Pasadena. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and absolutely the best. We were specially pleased with the service we received at the restaurant. The staff was very accomodating and took customer service to another level. If you are planning on staying in the Pasadena area this is definitely the best hotel to consider.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinPasadena, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
I cannot tell you how it warms our hearts to receive your praise as well as so many others. We believe that we are a cut above the rest and your glowing comments certainly confirm that to be true. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon. Until then, travel safe and Happy Holidays! Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010 via mobile

Hotel staff is very nice and pleasant. Norman helped us with our meal and he was curteous and helpful with us. This place has a good vibe and a good place to have a drink and eat good food.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Address: 191 N Los Robles, Pasadena, CA 91101
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find us in the heart of one of California's most exciting cities, with easy access to cultural sites such as the Historic Old Town, museums, restaurants, and the Rose Bowl Stadium. We're also only a short distance from the Pasadena Conference Center. We offer 345 crisp, clean guest rooms and five unique suites, all boasting our signature white Westin Heavenly(R) Bed with pillow-top mattress. Many rooms offer great courtyard or mountain views, and all are furnished with the uplifting Heavenly(R) Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.