We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Sophisticated, and Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Pasadena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Pasadena to your Saves list
The Westin Pasadena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 N Los Robles, Pasadena, CA 91101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Elegant, Sophisticated, and Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My room, not large, but adequate, seemed almost Japanese in style, decorated with elegance and simplicity, and perfect. The public areas are attractive and dressy. The staff is noticeably more formally trained, dressed, and disciplined than more casual places. The 4th floor pool and spa area is also pretty but not large. Too bad I didn't need the exercise room, it is seriously well equipped. Parking is a bit of a hassle; you have to use the valet (extra charge plus tipping plus a wait if they're busy) or drive around the block to the labyrinthine underground garage, also for a fee. There's also a daily fee for the internet connection. The outdoor dining area is gracious and the menu very upscale (and pricey) but the day I was there, they were swamped. Apparently they had way many more guests than they expected.
My waiter apologized, they couldn't offer the breakfast I preferred. My waiter brought me some breakfast sides they still had, gratis, and rushed on. Oh well. I hope that doesn't happen often.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    377
    144
    67
    39
See reviews for
203
269
74
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a wonderful stay. Loved the window shutters instead of drapes, robe to use, comfortable bed, good water pressure, hot water and efficient shower head, bath amenities,large hand-held mirror, in-room coffee/tea, quiet--no A/C noise, in-room refrigerator, free boarding pass computer/printer area, hotel shuttle, quick elevators, pool and lobby areas, housekeeping staff, being addressed with title and last name by front desk staff, walking distance to a variety of eateries, city hall complex. Room could use a microwave and ventilation in bathroom.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have views: San Gabriel mountains, city hall, city lights at night, pool and front...
See more room tips
Green Features: You could opt out of daily housekeeping by hanging a card on your door handle.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is great. There is a overnight self parking fee of $9 but that is nothing. The hotel is spotless, great and very modern. We stayed her for one night and loved it. The room had a bench seat that looked out over city hall and the room was very quit on the 11th floor. The gym was great and the area around the hotel safe. The main block (main street) is only 2 blocks away and the heart of Pasadena.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my first visit to the hotel and and it was absolutely wonderful. Everyone at the hotel was so helpful. I was actually here to have a meeting and I would diffinetely come back. Beautiful property wit excellent outside area and lots of networking space in the hotel. Restaurant - excellent food! And so much of it! Xochiti Trejo was so helpful to me as was all of the staff.

Great location for walking to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice outdoor pool, clean comfortable rooms and most of all -- a friendly staff make this hotel a "go-to" for our family. The location near Old Pasadena is easy, safe and exciting and totally walkable. Hotel has shuttle van for those who don't like to walk.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has pool and gym, so stay away from that floor. Lots of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This review is relative to expectations as a frequent Westin guest and elite level Starwood member. The positives first. It is a lovely property. The outdoor bar area and 4th floor pool area are excellent areas to relax and meet Westin standards. The hotel ocation is solid too as it is a relatively short walk to a myriad of shops, restaurants and bars.

Now, the disappointments. Three of the four elevators were not in working order on a recent Saturday. If not, for the clerk in the gift shop who told us where the employee/service elevator was located, we'd probably still be waiting :). The charging for wi-fi is a constant irritant, but on this occasion, I simply needed to print out a two page document from the Web, so I attempted to use the "complimentary" computers in the gift shop. Had issues with how slow and antiquated the computers were as they couldn't print the needed document. No worries, I was told there was another computer/printer at other end of lobby floor. Of course, that machine charged by the minute and for printing a couple pieces of paper. Don't get me wrong as I'm not cheap, just annoyed at being nickel and dimed by a supposed higher end property. Last but not least, the room left a bit to be desired. The bathroom was a bit tired and the bed didn't have the textbook Westin comfort.

Overall, a decent, but less than memorable stay. Just didn't feel like this particular Westin has its heart into the little things.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLusher, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer me your feedback.

The nature of your comments lead me to believe you were here over the July 4th weekend. Our elevators were tampered with and one of the safety mechanisms were compromised. This cause an ‘alert’ to the parent controls of the elevators causing 1 to trip. The extent of the vandalism was such that it caused the ‘board’ to malfunction and alternately ‘trip’ the other elevators. We had technicians out most of the day on Friday and all day on Saturday trying to resolve the issue as there was never any real danger with the elevators. The fact that it was a holiday weekend and that we were at maximum capacity only exacerbated the issues. I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced by this situation.
Our Heavenly Beds© are the same signature mattress as other Westin’s. That is an interesting observation though and I apologize you did not find your mattress as comfortable as previous stays at Westin properties.

I hope that we have another opportunity to show you that we have ‘heart’ and that we care about your business, your comfort, and your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very disappointed. Stayed at many Weston n this by far the worst. Reserved two queen beds n arrive mid day and found that they did not have the room, only a king. Staff was less the agreeable. Rooms just so so except bed, heavenly . Will try some where else next visit.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimLusher, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I apologize that we were unable to fulfill you room request for 2 queen beds. We do our very best to accommodate all of our guest’s request and sometimes are not able to please everyone. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, but am more so to lose your future business. I hope that despite your comments you will visit us again next time you are in the Pasadena area for a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.7 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.0 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#8 of 30 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#13 of 30 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Address: 191 N Los Robles, Pasadena, CA 91101
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#4 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find us in the heart of one of California's most exciting cities, with easy access to cultural sites such as the Historic Old Town, museums, restaurants, and the Rose Bowl Stadium. We're also only a short distance from the Pasadena Conference Center. We offer 345 crisp, clean guest rooms and five unique suites, all boasting our signature white Westin Heavenly(R) Bed with pillow-top mattress. Many rooms offer great courtyard or mountain views, and all are furnished with the uplifting Heavenly(R) Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.