We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Pasadena

Save Saved
You added The Westin Pasadena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Pasadena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 N Los Robles, Pasadena, CA 91101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 hotels in Pasadena
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel itself is a typical Westin, no need to say more. The building looks like it was recently renovated, clean and well cared for. The rooms were clean with all the typical amenities of Westin. There was a nice looking bar in the lobby which we did not use. Pool area which included jacuzzi on the 4th floor was very nice and relaxing. Somewhere on this level there is a spa which obviously needs some signage because everyone walking by was asking if I had seen it, I hadn't. And the gym facilities are well equipped and maintained. All the staff was extremely nice and helpful.

The location is just perfect. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping, Old Town. If you are driving, parking is by Valet which was charged at $14.00/night. In/out allowed. Keep in mind NO STREET PARKING ALLOWED ANYWHERE overnight in the city of Pasadena, even if there is no sign. I think there is a self park option but we were not advised of this until after the car was taken and I don't know what the self park rate was.

Room Tip: Corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    278
    105
    49
    26
See reviews for
149
193
65
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nice location near Colorado and all the shops and restaurants. Parking was very fairly priced for self parking. They have a new feature where you pay a small fee for workout clothes or shoes if you happen to forget yours. Amazing gym facility. The best one I have seen in many years. The spa and pool area were nicely put together and welcoming. The food in the bar area was very good and good pricing for a hotel bar. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hotel is typical Westin....nothing overly fancy...however they advertise spa services...and it really is a spa room. The real problem is the difficulty of finding the spa room...located between the locker rooms for men/women, however no sign at all...very confusing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were just in Pasadena for one night following a special event, and the Westin was a nice capper on the day. Nice mountain view (enhanced in the morning by the overnight snowfall) from the tenth floor room, with a cozy window seat/lounge beneath the windows. The room was spacious and quiet, and had all those nice touches that make it comfortable: throw pillows on the window seat, extra pillows and great linens on the bed, extra towels and a dual shower head, and a magnifying hand mirror strong enough that I could actually see to put on mascara. There was a surprising mixup on the bill, with a hefty charge over what my boy friend booked. But they backed it out when he complained and apologized.

Room Tip: North side looks toward the mountains, west toward the beautiful city hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's bad enough that the Westin continues to use flat sheets for the bottom sheet on their beds, but to use sheets that don't even fit the bed in question is inexcusable. Then they compound it by putting a flimsy mattress pad under is that is not fastened to the mattress itself-the end result of all of this, of course, is a wadded up mess the first time you turn over. Why hotels think that I would be willing to spend upwards of $200/night to sleep in a mess like that is beyond me-does anyone do this w/their own bed at home? Of course not, so why do it here to your paying guests? Then there is the matter of the motion sensors many of these higher end hotels have installed in the guest rooms that turn off the ventilation system, allegedly to be 'green' or 'sustainable'-again, to the hotel GM, do you have one of these in your bedroom at home? If not, why do you think a paying guest wants to have to get up & run around the room @ 3am in order to get the temperature to come back down? Fortunately, at least in my room, the windows actually open which helped during the day, but due to street noise, not really an option during the night. For these 2 reasons, I rated this as a poor stay-if I can't sleep, everything else the hotel has to offer doesn't matter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am very sorry that your stay with us was not heavenly. It is certainly not our intention that you are not comfortable in our beds. There are many reasons that the industry standard is to "triple sheet" using flat sheets. Most people do not encounter a "mess" while sleeping. I am sorry that this meant a sleepless night for you. On the issue of your climate control, we are truly trying to do the right thing. We do not intend for you to be uncomfortable, but we do want to be envionmentally responsible. I think that you will find, as you mentioned, most hotels will not have thermostats that are not monitored. I hope that your previous experience does not prevent you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I have always loved Westin Hotels, however, I have never experienced the following:
After a long day of exploring The Pasadena culinary and bar wonders we decided to dip in the jacuzzi before turning in. To my shock we were sharing the jacuzzi with a family with two young children including an 18 month old with a "swimmer diaper" .. Yes a diaper! I asked the "I don't have a clue" mom that I had never seen small children in a jacuzzi before (hint.. Hint) unfortunately she didn't get the hint . I could not enjoy the jacuzzi knowing that these two kids were in there and it was very unhealthy for them and for us. I was surprised that Westin does not monitor the pool area. Overall the service was amazing (except for the "baby wipe" jacuzzi)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I am so sorry that this was your experience at the Westin Pasadena. Obviously, it is never appropriate for an infant to be in the jacuzzi. I would certainly have taken care of this situation. I am also sorry that you had to confront the parents to try to correct the situation. I hope that this does not keep you from joining us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love this hotel. I was fortunate enough to spend a glorious two weeks here for a business trip. The hotel has been completely renovated and the rooms are very comfortable. You have views of City Hall dome. The staff is very friendly and the location is fantastic. You can walk down to Colorado Blvd to all of the shops, restaurants, etc. I can not wait to come back with the family later this summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we hope that you bring your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena Hotel
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin
Address: 191 N Los Robles, Pasadena, CA 91101
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.