We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place and very convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Pasadena

Save Saved
You added The Westin Pasadena to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Pasadena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 N Los Robles, Pasadena, CA 91101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 hotels in Pasadena
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Really nice place and very convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were just in Pasadena for one night following a special event, and the Westin was a nice capper on the day. Nice mountain view (enhanced in the morning by the overnight snowfall) from the tenth floor room, with a cozy window seat/lounge beneath the windows. The room was spacious and quiet, and had all those nice touches that make it comfortable: throw pillows on the window seat, extra pillows and great linens on the bed, extra towels and a dual shower head, and a magnifying hand mirror strong enough that I could actually see to put on mascara. There was a surprising mixup on the bill, with a hefty charge over what my boy friend booked. But they backed it out when he complained and apologized.

Room Tip: North side looks toward the mountains, west toward the beautiful city hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    302
    112
    51
    29
See reviews for
157
212
68
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's bad enough that the Westin continues to use flat sheets for the bottom sheet on their beds, but to use sheets that don't even fit the bed in question is inexcusable. Then they compound it by putting a flimsy mattress pad under is that is not fastened to the mattress itself-the end result of all of this, of course, is a wadded up mess the first time you turn over. Why hotels think that I would be willing to spend upwards of $200/night to sleep in a mess like that is beyond me-does anyone do this w/their own bed at home? Of course not, so why do it here to your paying guests? Then there is the matter of the motion sensors many of these higher end hotels have installed in the guest rooms that turn off the ventilation system, allegedly to be 'green' or 'sustainable'-again, to the hotel GM, do you have one of these in your bedroom at home? If not, why do you think a paying guest wants to have to get up & run around the room @ 3am in order to get the temperature to come back down? Fortunately, at least in my room, the windows actually open which helped during the day, but due to street noise, not really an option during the night. For these 2 reasons, I rated this as a poor stay-if I can't sleep, everything else the hotel has to offer doesn't matter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am very sorry that your stay with us was not heavenly. It is certainly not our intention that you are not comfortable in our beds. There are many reasons that the industry standard is to "triple sheet" using flat sheets. Most people do not encounter a "mess" while sleeping. I am sorry that this meant a sleepless night for you. On the issue of your climate control, we are truly trying to do the right thing. We do not intend for you to be uncomfortable, but we do want to be envionmentally responsible. I think that you will find, as you mentioned, most hotels will not have thermostats that are not monitored. I hope that your previous experience does not prevent you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I have always loved Westin Hotels, however, I have never experienced the following:
After a long day of exploring The Pasadena culinary and bar wonders we decided to dip in the jacuzzi before turning in. To my shock we were sharing the jacuzzi with a family with two young children including an 18 month old with a "swimmer diaper" .. Yes a diaper! I asked the "I don't have a clue" mom that I had never seen small children in a jacuzzi before (hint.. Hint) unfortunately she didn't get the hint . I could not enjoy the jacuzzi knowing that these two kids were in there and it was very unhealthy for them and for us. I was surprised that Westin does not monitor the pool area. Overall the service was amazing (except for the "baby wipe" jacuzzi)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I am so sorry that this was your experience at the Westin Pasadena. Obviously, it is never appropriate for an infant to be in the jacuzzi. I would certainly have taken care of this situation. I am also sorry that you had to confront the parents to try to correct the situation. I hope that this does not keep you from joining us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love this hotel. I was fortunate enough to spend a glorious two weeks here for a business trip. The hotel has been completely renovated and the rooms are very comfortable. You have views of City Hall dome. The staff is very friendly and the location is fantastic. You can walk down to Colorado Blvd to all of the shops, restaurants, etc. I can not wait to come back with the family later this summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we hope that you bring your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I used to live in LA, Pasadena is always my favorite spot for shopping, dining, hang out with friends and grab a drink.

My friend had their wedding at Westin Pasadena. We decided to stay there during our visit. The service is average Starwood quality, not extraordinary, but standard. The hotel has completely renovated. The room is quite comfy with beautiful view of San Gabriel Valley. The pool is small, but the views of City hall half dome add some credit to it.

Overall, it was a great stay. Friendly staffs, OK food (from wedding menu), reasonable overnight parking charge (yes, $14 is reasonable in Pasadena), comfortable room décor and renovated bathroom. I think we will stay here again next time when we are in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay with us on your return trip to Pasadena. I will share your words with our staff because we do not strive to be ordinary or standard. We want to be extraordinary. We take your comments seriously and use them for training. Thanks for taking the time to let us knwo how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Westin during the Rose Bowl in December. Here are the facts:

1. Great location - walk to downtown Pasadena, lots of resaurants, bars, stores and shops.
2. Staff at the Westin is very nice and very accomodating
3. The workout area is very nice, good equipment, steam room and sauna.
4. Pool and hot tub is decent, nothing special but nice with a great view
5. Rooms are just ok, not bad but nothing special. We don't stay in the room much on vaction so not a big deal for us.
6. They allow dogs, if you have one great, we did not so no issue, our kids did love seeing them in the hotel.

So overall we would recommend the Westin, very comfortable feeling with great staff in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay over Rose Bowl. I am happy that you found our hotel comfortable and welcoming over the holidays. I know that this time can be hectic for some and am glad that you found a safe haven within our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I came to eat here with my family and it was the best experience. Norman and Urbano made us feel very welcome and were extra attentative to my kids.We will definitely come back for the food and great service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you. Our staff in Ventana's are very welcoming and always provide great servise. I hope that you are able to come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Address: 191 N Los Robles, Pasadena, CA 91101
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#4 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;