We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Pasadena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3600 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Joshua Tree
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great value for Pasadena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Folks who say this isn't within walking distance of something don't understand southern California all that well - nothing is within walking distance of anything. Everything is spread out and you DRIVE. Nobody walks in LA, after all.
That said, with this hotel you are right on Colorado, which is an easy five minute drive to Old Pasadena, the theatre district, and Huntington Library and Gardens. You're close to Mission San Gabriel, and a host of other attractions, shopping, and dining options, so there is absolutely nothing to complain about.
In addition, this hotel has been recently remodeled and upgraded. The front desk staff was efficient, helpful, and friendly during our stay, and the room was quite good for the price. It was a little noisy from time to time (but I can't blame the hotel for a guest who wanders around talking loudly on a cell phone at 5 a.m.), and the parking spaces are all for compacts, whether or not the person next to you is driving a Hummer, but that's about it as far as the negatives go.
The breakfast is basic but decent, and while it's nothing exciting, it's more than adequate (though when we arrived, there were two bananas and they were not replaced by staff while we were there, even though they vanished immediately, so perhaps a little attention to replenishing breakfast items is in order).
All in all, an excellent value for under $100 in Pasadena.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    75
    47
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
50
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our stay was average. We had a pipe/water problem and when you are on business and have a time schedule this is not so good. Everything else was fine. One of the employees was very helpful and so nice at the front desk. I liked that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Older hotel that could use an update. The hotel is not within walking distance of Old Pasadena and there isn't really anything nearby you can to walk to. The breakfast was disappointing, stale pastries, coffee not that great and very weak orange juice.
On the plus side the very little street noise intrudes into the room from the street. I don't think I would stay here again if I return to Pasadena. This is not a knock on the staff they were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel while attending a UCLA football game. I was pleasantly surprised at the excellent condition of our room. The furnishings, floor, walls, etc had been recently upgraded. The air conditioning was newer and thus operated quietly. The door opened directly to the outside which I normally do not like but we did not experience much noise from the parking lot. The hotel has a small outdoor pool which we enjoyed. Breakfast was offered in a small room off the hotel lobby. Typical fruit, cereal, rolls, juice, coffee, etc. The area around the hotel seemed safe although I would not go walking around alone late at night. We found a nice Italian restaurant within a few blocks. It was 3 miles down Colorado Blvd to old-town Pasadena and traffic was generally light on the weekend. Parking was inside a well-lit courtyard which I liked. Overall, this was a good experience for a 3-star hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western three nights. This BW is obviously aging. However, rooms were clean and comfortable, and equipped with coffee makers and mini-fridges. Wi-fi worked fine for us. Our room was very dark, but mostly because we had one of the few rooms that opened to a hallway wall, and not the parking lot. Breakfast is standard for a hotel of this price point (cereal, waffles, toast), and they make it easy to take food back to your room if the breakfast room is crowded. Location is convenient to highways and old town (with restaurants and shopping). We did have problems finding an open parking spot one evening when we came home on the late side. In all, perfectly fine for a short stay with great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived after 3pm to find that the suite was not ready. We waited maybe 30 mins in the lobby til we could go into the suite. Patrick was so understanding to the situation. Our suite was outstanding, great flat screen tv where I watched the USA basketball team win the gold the next morning. Bedroom was very comfortable along with the shower in the bath. Pasadena is a marvelous town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale

Address: 3600 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy affordable luxury at the Best Western Pasadena Royale conveniently located minutes away from the Rose Bowl, the Los Angeles Arboretum and the Santa Anita Race Track.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale, a full-service hotel providing the best in customer service and location for an affordable rate. Ideally located minutes away from key Southern California attractions, this Pasadena area hotel also features 62 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each fully equipped with cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Wake up each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast before taking a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi hot tub or relaxing in the steam room and sauna. Other hotel amenities include guest laundry, full business services and meeting facilities accommodating up to 50 guests.The BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale is situated along Colorado Boulevard, offering easy access to local shopping and dining. Visit the Santa Anita Racetrack or the Los Angeles Arboretum, both located just two miles away. Families visiting the area will enjoy a quick day trip to Disneyland, Universal Studios or Knotts Berry Farm, all less than an hour's drive away. In town for the Rose Bowl and the Rose Bowl Parade? The BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale is the ideal lodging situated less than six miles from the festivities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Best Western, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pasadena Royale Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pasadena Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.