We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tournament of Roses Association

Tournament of Roses Association
391 South Orange Grove Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91184
626 449 4100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 Attractions in Pasadena
Type: Historic Sites, Performances, Tours, Cultural
Attraction details
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
268 attraction reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Fun tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The tour began with a video of the history of the parade, and it put a whole new light on the parade for me. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and truly enjoyed his work. We saw how they choose the queen and her court, where the committee has meetings regarding the parade and some of the furnishings and decor of one of the original Wrigley mansions. We enjoyed the tour and looking at many of the roses growing alongside the mansion as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    13
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a pleasant facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were sent here from a friend to tour the house. it was nice and clean. But more importantly huge and just beautiful. Spent a hour looking around, and hearing of the famous people that visited here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenpasadena
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Insider Tips to Rose Parade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've lived in Pasadena since 1993 and really like it. Of course, most people know us for the annual Rose Parade.

There aren't enough hotels in Pasadena, but downtown LA and even Monrovia, CA are pretty close and have a decent amount of hotels to choose from.

If you can, take the Gold Line to the Parade. You can avoid worrying about parking.

Unless you are a teenager or crazy, don't spend the night on the street waiting for the parade. There are plenty of spaces further east on the Parade Route. You can walk right up and stand on the front row on Colorado BLVD. And it takes about an hour for the parade to get to East Pasadena, so that gives you more time to sleep in.

After you see the parade, it's really the same every year. Veteran Pasadenan's watch it on Channel 5 - it's repeated all day. They have the best coverage.

Don't go to see the floats after the parade is over. The parking is horrible and the crowds are overflowing. Instead, see above. Watch one of the reruns on Channel 5 New Year's Day.

If you are a runner, a fun thing to do is join the other runners about an hour before the parade starts and run down Colorado Blvd. You burn off calories and can then go watch the parade on Channel 5.

Also, I've been to Macy's Parade, and the Rose Parade is much better. It's warmer, prettier and you can watch football all day afterwards.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth an all nighter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The Rose parade is second only to the Macy's parade in my mind. It delivers beautiful floats , marching bands, horses and plenty of enthusiastic crowds.
Bleacher seats are available for a price, but are hard to exit if one needs to. We usually have someone( preferably younger than yours truly) hold our place curbside. You can start marking your area about 24 hours beforehand and setting up at designated times. Check the website for specifics. A large tarp works well, lawn chairs and blankets.
The fun begins when the streets close the night before. Prior to the streets closing there is an unofficial parade of vintage autos, bicyclists and the like.
Food and coffee are available most of the night at various venues and street vendors. There are clusters of port a potties along the parade route.
Police presence is congenial and effective: not only do they remove unruly spectators they protect the all parade goers from last minute arrivals who try to worm their way into a front row spot.
Pasadena can get pretty cold at night- dress in warm clothes and bring a portable camp heater and plenty of blankets.
Everyone should attend at least once ! I confess- I live within 5 minute walk- so I feel obligated to go!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE CORAL, FL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“GREAT HOUSE< GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT COMMITTEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I ahve been to the Rose Bowl many many times and must tell you that this Association is a GREAT bunch of people. Love the RED COATS and white pants. The hosue that the office is in is extremely well kept and the people are very welcoming and friendly. No wonder that the Association is so well organized. They take PRIDE in what they do and you can tell that from when the scouts are out to invite you at your local university or hen they are marshalling the parade or even when you just go to visit. this is definately a TOP CLASS association and they should be very very PROUD of the work they do. Very well represented and a grand organization, Thanks for all you do !!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tournament of Roses Association also viewed

 

Been to Tournament of Roses Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tournament of Roses Association, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.