We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOUSE< GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT COMMITTEE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tournament of Roses Association

Tournament of Roses Association
391 South Orange Grove Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91184
626 449 4100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 Attractions in Pasadena
Type: Historic Sites, Performances, Tours, Cultural
Attraction details
CAPE CORAL, FL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“GREAT HOUSE< GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT COMMITTEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I ahve been to the Rose Bowl many many times and must tell you that this Association is a GREAT bunch of people. Love the RED COATS and white pants. The hosue that the office is in is extremely well kept and the people are very welcoming and friendly. No wonder that the Association is so well organized. They take PRIDE in what they do and you can tell that from when the scouts are out to invite you at your local university or hen they are marshalling the parade or even when you just go to visit. this is definately a TOP CLASS association and they should be very very PROUD of the work they do. Very well represented and a grand organization, Thanks for all you do !!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    13
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Roses and More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I can remember many New Years mornings waiting in the cold for the parade to start. It's worth it. When I can't be there in person, I try to watch it on TV. Last year I took my wife to see the Post-Parade float exhibit. The Post-Parade gives you a good long look, but usually the animation is off, but it's less crowded and you aren't waiting in the cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The history of this location add value to your visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The TOR house was once the Wigley family ( yes the chewing gum folks) mansion. Well worth a visit on your next trip to Pasadena. A great history of the Rose Parade is on display for you to enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Official Tour? Worth EVERY Penny!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We did the official Tournament of Roses tour in 2012 and 2013. Both times we say "Worth every single penny we spent!"

Highlights:
* Float decorating: See 3-4 different sites including the Rose Bowl site where the general public views floats from a scaffold-walkway along one wall while Official Tour folks get to walk ON THE FLOOR OF WAREHOUSE along three walls. Up close and personal.

* Band Fest: In my mind, a do-not-miss. The bands that perform go above-and-beyond in their performances. You are seeing some amazing shows.

* Parade: Police escort to the parade. You don't have to deal with the traffic even from the comfort of the bus. Still a little walk to grand stand seats which are at the corner, near Norton Simon Museum, so floats have slowed to make the corner! Perfect view, great photos. Take your Tournament seat cushions - and dress in layers (cool mornings, warmer once parade starts). Note: don't drink coffee that morning. The porta-potty's should be considered emergency use only!!

* Game: Both years we went to the game. <Go Badgers! We love you even though you lost.> You can feel comfortable & confident leaving items on the bus as it is locked when not attended. Before the game, catered lunch in special tent with own bathroom/porta-potty facilities. Yummy food, nice to get out of the sun for a bit and relax. Then onto the game where you can upgrade your tickets but we chose not to and had great seats on the side end zone where the team came out of the tunnel. Bring the seat cushions that Official Tour gives as a gift. The stadium seats will get harder as the game progresses.

* Post-Game: the bus driver is the one dealing with the traffic not you! Still a fairly quick return to hotel considering the # of folks at the game.

* Next day float viewing: We did this in 2012 but had to miss it in 2013 and I'm bummed we did. Great opportunity to get closer to the floats for some great pix. The Official Tour takes you early so you are in & out before the crowds.

Again, worth every penny. Strongly recommend!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel, Jerusalem
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
218 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“amazing rose parade 2013!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

the thing they can do with roses are amazing!!! big floats with all kind of themes made of roses and the whole atmosphere is so festive with the special clothes for those who keep it organised and the police escort. whole of Pasadena is full of people the night before- we cane from san diego early at 7:30 a.m. (the parade starts around 9 a.m.) and the streets were already full of people who spent the night outside reserving a spot on the parade route. actual people in their pj's and heaters and RVs... the parade takes about 2 and a half hours but it is so worth it! a thing that happens once a year and different every time is worth standing in one spot. make sure you park far away from the parade's route and walk it back because you won't find parking closer and you will have it much easier to get out of Pasadena quickly after the parade ends. also make sure to wear worm and layared clothing because it can be cold early in the morning but worm by the time the parade ends. it was a thing i always wanted to see in person and it was so worth it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tournament of Roses Association also viewed

 

Been to Tournament of Roses Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tournament of Roses Association, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.