We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Baldwins Pub

Lucky Baldwins Pub
17 S Raymond Ave, Pasadena, CA 91105-1913
626-795-0652
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 591 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: British, Brew Pub, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The beer is always awesome! The pub food is not the reason I go but is good. You really feel that you're in Scotland. My favorite place when in Old Town to go in the evening and live my Scottish roots.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy S, Owner at Lucky Baldwins Pub, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Experiencedtrav07,

What a lovely review—cheers! We pride ourselves on authenticity, and I'm thrilled we passed your test. Whether you're looking for a stellar beer or some tasty bites, we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Peggy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good English food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

For a family of five, this is an interesting dinner choice. There are no kids meals, and no refills on sodas, and few tables that can fit us. Nevertheless, the portions are large enough to be split, as long as everyone can agree on what to order. My boys loved the fish and chips, and my wife loved the Cottage pie. Green peas are not our first choice of vegetable, though, and they come with every meal, as if that is all the English eat. If you combine them with the cheesy fries, they become a lot more enjoyable. Our total bill, with no drinks, was $60. Of course, not buying drinks ensured us of poor service, since they knew our bill wouldnt be increasing steadily. Overall, I would stop in again for the fish and chips, but probably not for nothing else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Which to choose?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

There are two Lucky Baldwins in Pasadena, and they have completely different atmospheres. The one on Colorado is spacious and feels like a sports bar. The one in Old Town is petite, and the atmosphere wasn't really there -- at least at lunch time. There are other bars nearby that would be higher on my list.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Iove this place and go every time I'm near Pasadena. You really feel like you're in Scotland at a real pub. It's dark and old on the inside due to being in an older building. They have an awesome tap selection and good food!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lucky to hit up Lucky Baldwins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Amazing beer list, great food and service, and cool atmosphere!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Baldwins Pub also viewed

 
 

Been to Lucky Baldwins Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Baldwins Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.