We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to have dinner with friends.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royce at The Langham

The Royce at The Langham
1401 South Oak Knoll Avenue, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, CA 91106 (Formerly The Dining Room at The Langham)
626-585-6410
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Royce at The Langham is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 519 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wentworth
Rowland Heights, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A nice place to have dinner with friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The service and the ambience were very nice. I had the porterhouse medium rare. It was good, but it was closer to rare than medium rare. The oysters were fresh and good as well. The side dishes were excellent. We brought our own wine, but the wine menu was quite extensive. The deserts were good as well. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    25
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An amazing celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Every staff member who we encountered as we entered the hotel grounds and ventured into The Royce greeted us with smiles and treated us as long time friends. Andrea, our waitress, is amazing. I always enjoy working with a waitress who knows the menu and has experienced the different dishes. Our meal lived up to our dreams. The wood fired steaks are tender and flavorful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a tastebuds delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

the presentation, and the cuisine were unflappable and creative.An excellent selection of wines. Quite pricey

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lounge style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We sat outside and ordered an array of snacks and appetizers. It's a nice place for a quiet date or just girl talk time. Not a place for singles looking to get a date though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A Disappointing Change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

After visiting the Royce last year, we were blown away. The artistry of the food was incredible and the service phenomenal. We returned for my birthday this year when staying at the Langham. The restaurant has changed. It is now a steakhouse. Gone are the works of art served as food, and instead one can order various slabs of meat. The steaks themselves are well prepared, but after choosing the global tasting menu, we were underwhelmed with the Wagyu and the Kobi. In the end, the standard, lowest price 8 oz Filet Mignon was the finest thing we ate that night. The service overall was abyssmal for a $500 meal. We requested the Justin Isosceles and the waiter attempted to change our selection to a bottle he had carried around earlier in the evening. The follow through service on the courses was poor. No mention of the birthday was made in the course of the evening (I don't want a candle and a song, but would like mention of it after it was clearly specified in the reservation made by my husband). Overall I am unsure that we will return as the evening was a disappointment overall.

mpereau@hotmail.com

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royce at The Langham also viewed

 

Been to The Royce at The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royce at The Langham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.