We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mark in Pasadena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Street Restaurant

Green Street Restaurant
146 Shoppers Ln, Pasadena, CA 91101
626-577-7170
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Green Street Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 603 Restaurants in Pasadena
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Green Street Restaurant is where Pasadenans go to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner and it's been a Pasadena tradition since 1979. It is centrally located just off South Lake Avenue and is within walking distance of hotels, the convention center, the Pasadena Playhouse and popular shopping areas. Green Street has an eclectic menu featuring savory salads (the ever popular and addicting Dianne Salad is ordered over 2,000 times per week), tasty meats, fresh fish and creative sandwiches served on wonderful breads. Guests enjoy a full bar and interesting wines by the glass on a beautiful patio or in the airy interior. Take-out and full catering services are also available.
Carnac, France
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good mark in Pasadena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Green Street is a parallel to Colorado Street the nervous center of Pasadena .In an area where not all restaurants are open for lunch,the place is good to know.Lunch experience today has been convincing with a grilled salmon perfectly medium rare cooked as requested.Garniture was rich in mushrooms.Very good lunch indeed with courteous service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    77
    25
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for lunch before the BCS game. Very good lunch, good menu selection. Everything we ordered was very tasty- homemade chips w/onion dip, guacamole, burgers, & Diane Salad.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Green New Years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited on New Years Eve. We selected it based on ratings and value. With an early reservation we were promptly seated. The menu is as posted on their web site and extensive enough to accommodate most tastes and budgets. They have an extensive wine list and the CA cab we selected was excellent.

Although the wait staff was attentive, our waiter seemed like he was on automatic – probably wished he was at a party. We ordered the CA fig appetizer. It was good. One of their specialties is chicken-parm. It was excellent and was accompanied by roasted veggies (very good). The other dish was a mixed fish skewer. It was fair as the kabobs were overdone. Instead of the green beans that come with the dish, we ordered the roasted vegetables. We got the green beans. The replacement veggies came when the meal was about finished but they compensated with a double order of skewered veggies (very good).

Overall, and in comparison to other restaurants in the area, the Green Street Café is a good value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Over priced and mediocre food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family decided to try something new. We found Green Street while walking so we gave them a shot. I was hesitant at the prices ($14-16 for sandwiches or salads) for a lunch, but I was hoping for the best. I was mistaken. The restaurant seemed like it was located in an alley, but a few other restaurants were there as well, so I guess people know where to look.

The place looked nice enough. Dark woods, a small bar in the center of the restaurant. They have outdoor seating. I will say that the place was very loud. I don't know exactly why it was so loud, but it was difficult to talk across the table because of the noise.

The server was a little slow to come over, but after that they were always on the ball. Top marks to their wait staff.

We tried few different items and they all left a little to be desired. The Gaucho (chicken with avocado on Ciabatta bread) had a chemically taste to it. The house fries and sweet potato fries looked fantastic, but we were disappointed because they were cold. A simple quesadilla was OK, but again it was just a quesadilla.

Maybe the salads were great. Maybe I just had a bad experience. From my point of view I had high expectations that just were not met. I would not go back. Hopefully you will have better luck.

Happy Travels!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local Dependable Standby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good varied menu to fit the pickiest of appetites from vegan to carnivores - freshly made and very tasty. Their Diane and many other salads are great! Servers attentive and good. Can sit in or outside depending on weather. Parking structure on top. Breakfast, lunch and dinner served - all good choices and specials. It is busy morn to night. Reservations a good idea.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Street Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Green Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Street Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.