We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large place with various eating area options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cholo Cafe

El Cholo Cafe
260 E. Colorado Blvd. Suite 203, Pasadena, CA 91101
6267955800
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Cholo Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 591 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Garfield Ave. and Colorado Blvd.
Description: El Cholo Pasadena opened its doors to the public in October 2000 on Fair Oaks Ave. We moved to the Paseo Mall in December 2010 on Colorado Blvd. keeping the 88 year old legend going strong. All of the El Cholo restaurants feature authentic and traditional Mexican dishes, many of which have come from family recipes dating back to 1923. Our distinctive menu offers classics such as our famous Green Corn Tamales, Enchiladas,and sizzling Fajitas. Our Combination plates along with our newer comidas especiales have made El Cholo famous along with our irresistible Nachos introduced in the 1950's. But there is one thing that El Cholo is especially known for and that is our Award-Winning Margarita. The decor of El Cholo Pasadena radiates warmth and relaxation. The Hacienda style architecture is accented with hand-painted arches, rustic ceiling timbers and traditional Mexican murals. Amenities include two full service bars, three outdoor patios,and a private banquet room.
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Large place with various eating area options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were staying right across the street and chose El Cholo because it was the only spot in the mall on Colorado that was not a national chain. This is a family-owned place; 3rd generation.
Even on Sunday night, it was busy. We had an exceptionally friendly server. Fair prices and good - although not exceptional - food. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    19
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best chile relleno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I live in Chicago but make a planned trip to El Cholo every time I head to Pasadena. Fun, relaxing time. Good for a group. I recommend the "special" chile relleno. It hits the mark everytime. I pair it with the abondigas soup and side of black beans. Oh and don't forget the table side made guacamole.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Viva Happy Hour!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I enjoy meeting our friends occasionally for happy hour at local restaurants. This is one of the best values and experiences in the Pasadena area. I hesitate to recommend it because I don't want it to become too crowded, but my loyalty to the TA community compels me. Wine and beer for $3 and margheritas for $5. Two crispy tacos, one chicken one shredded beef, $5. sampler appetizer plate, $5. The wine is BV and very good. The covered patio looks out over Pasadena and the San Gabriel mountains. It's a very relaxing setting. The only negative is the underground parking. If you can tolerate underground mall parking, do not miss this before they raise prices!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mexican experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I was brought to el cholo by friends that live in la. The food was ok (I live for spice and it was relatively mild flavored), but the margaritas were STRONG!!! Overall a great experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Guacamole made at your table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We first discovered El Cholo as students over thirty years ago at their original LA location and were pleased to find a satellite location in Pasadena. The Guacamole hand made at your table was fabulous and enough to feed a crowd. The waitress blends to your taste making the spiciness just right. The traditional Chili Rellenos are as wonderful as we remember, but the fajitas were not all that special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cholo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Cholo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cholo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.