We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fare!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louise's Trattoria

Louise's Trattoria
28 E Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91105
(626) 568-3030
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 591 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Fare!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had dinner at Louise's Trattoria Friday evening after work and the food was as always excellent. What sets Louise's apart is the strict competition from the Cheesecake Factory next door. You simply cannot survive unless you produce excellent food matched with good service. Pasadena on the whole has fabulous food and Louise's is a consistent favorite of mine. On this evening I had the Fettuccine Alfredo and it was spectacular. The chicken was tender and the cream sauce was excellent. The creme brulee was also very good, warm from the kitchen! You would expect a packet restaurant on a Friday evening to be slow, not the case. Food came out quickly and was high quality. Service was good, several people stopping to check on me during my meal. Glass was only empty for 2 minutes before being refilled. Situated on Colorado Boulevard this is a great place to shop, eat and people watch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Average food, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Took wife and daughter for dinner here. Passed here a few times an the place is always packed. For starters, crab cakes and meatballs. The cakes are a little bit burnt. It's moist and tasty, but I had better ones. The meatballs are a little bit salty, but the sa use is good. The piccata is good, but the jambalaya is worth coming back for. Our server is great with a sense of humor. They also have basement are for a more private gathering.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Louise's, after going there for the first time 2 weeks ago. The experience was equally enjoyable both times. Louise's Trattoria rivals Gale's for the best Italian food in the area. From the moment we hit the front door, the service was outstanding. Even on a busy Saturday night the hostess immediately brought us to our table. We were quickly served by our waiter (Ian) who did a wonderful job of attending to our needs without rushing us. To top it off, the quality and quantity of the food was also outstanding, and we had enough leftovers to make 4 more meals. Again, it was truly a delightful experience from start to finish, as our waiter even met us at the door to say good night and to thank us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had both lunch and dinner at Louise's. The soups, sandwiches and pastas are all wonderful. This is a local gem located on Colorado Boulevard and worth a visit for either lunch or dinner. Try the pastas and pizza, in particular.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Coming to Louise's is really making me LOVE the Pasadena food scene!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've been coming to Pasadena a lot in the past couple of months and took a chance to try Louise's. Sometimes it doesn't work out, but this time it did! Awesome service from the minute you walk into the restaurant and the intimate nature of the place is really exceptional. By far this is my favorite place in the Old Town area to eat and enjoy the food and company. The food is great. Before posting this review, I looked at some of the more "testy" previous reviews. I think Louise's is seriously under rated and a gem. I'll be back and before the end of the next month for sure!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louise's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Louise's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louise's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.