We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Potato Salad Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pie n' Burger

Pie n' Burger
913 E California Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91106
(626) 795-1123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 591 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Potato Salad Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pie was wonderful but the potato salad was the best I have ever had in a restaurant! Throwback hipster atmosphere with dedicated regulars. Name is descriptive of fare.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Michael and the entire staff rock, the breakfast, the burgers and the pie at this Pasadena Insitution are time honored classics. We miss living nearby and ordering our holiday pies. A treat every time we return to Pasadena.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Name says it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My two favorite foods done extremely well in one place. Best burger in CA
Why isn't there one of these in every city?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The OC
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“This cheeseburger ROCKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

You want a custom-made, gooey, delicious cheeseburger in Pasadena? Pie n' Burger is the place. You get the old-time diner experience eating in, too, but even if you take away, the burger will be amazing. If there's a better one in the area, then I'm stumped as to what it is.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were kind of disappointed with Pie n' Burger. Food was fine, but nothing really really notable. Burger was good, fries were average (they weren't homemade by my definition, I think they definitely came out of a bag), chili was average, pie was ok. The place is a real blast from the past in terms of decor. I think that it is probably best it you go there with that in mind, or with prior memories to rekindle. Prices were not cheap. Sorry, I wanted to love this place, but in the end I thought it was just ok.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pie n' Burger also viewed

 

Been to Pie n' Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pie n' Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.