We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 140 South

Cafe 140 South
140 S Lake Ave, Ste 101, Pasadena, CA 91101-4712
626-449-9900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 519 Restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Green St.
Chicago Suburbs
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went hunting for a late lunch on New Year's Day and found this great spot on Lake Street. We sat in the back room and watched the replay of the parade. Ambiance was nothing out of the ordinary but our food was fantastic. My husband had the ahi tuna sandwich and considered the fish on a par with entrees in top restaurants. I had the cheeseburger and thought the meat was among the best burgers I've had. The curly fries were a bit too spicy for my taste but we got the sweet onion ring appetizer and loved it, including the mild ranch dipping sauce. Prices were a bit high for lunch sandwiches but we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reuver, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a treat for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

After a morning of exploring Pasadena by foot, it was time for lunch. I stumbled into this place and gave myself a treat.

I went for a glass of bubbly and a cobb salad. The salad was delicious and the bubbly the" icing on the cake". I also must mention that the staff was really kind and friendly, wich is another reason to visit this place.

It is nothing to fancy, but go ther for the food and staff, you will not be dissapointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Another Favorite in Pasadena, CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love this place! It is my favorite little bistros in Pasadena. Nice variety of food - grilled artichokes and steak salad are my favorites! Burgers, steaks, sandwiches and chicken are also available. Service is always excellent. Since I generally come here for a late lunch, I have never noticed the noise level. Will return here again and again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“My "company cafeteria"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This restaurant is right across the street from my office, so of course we are there ... alot! But lucky us that the local spot is so very good! The tortilla soup and the pasts are are always exceptuional. The burger is excellent. Best onion rings on the planet. And the Thai salad is amazing. The patio is nice, year-round, which is good because the acoustics inside are NOT conducive to conversation. But the service is always warm and friendly and fast. The rolls that come out first are surprisingly good, too. I have eaten probably 50 - 60 meals here and never had a bad one. Wow!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“not fancy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

There are a lot of good restaurants in Pasadena, but we seldom make the drive from La Canada because of the traffic and parking. Decided to risk it on a Thursday night. There was plenty of room in the restaurant. At one point, we were the only couple in the room off the bar area. We didn't have any of the problems mentioned in some TA reviews. The service was prompt and polite. I had the braised short ribs and my wife had the herb-crusted Mahi Mahi. Both were excellent. The wine prices for a bottle are a bit high, but a good selection. Reasonable charge for wine by the glass, and they have a nice selection of draft beers. Finally, they validate parking in the close garage. Only $1 for our fairly short visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 140 South also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 140 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 140 South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.