We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Birthday Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raymond Restaurant

The Raymond Restaurant
1250 S Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91105-3417
626-441-3136
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Raymond Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 519 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Fair Oaks Ave. & Columbia St.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Took my BFF to The Raymond for her birthday and we had a lovely time. Began by sitting outside for cocktails at their cozy, cool bar area. Great place by the way just to hang out with friends for drinks and if not too hungry you can order from their bar food menu. The house is absolutely adorable and lovingly restored in Craftsman style. For our dinner we opted to sit outside on the patio to take advantage of the gorgeous weather. Robert took excellent care of us and they even personalized the menu with a Happy Birthday message for my friend. Very special indeed. We had a delicious endive salad, King Crab, Sea Bass and Scallops. For dessert we had the creme brulee. Everything was delicious and beautifully plated. They also have a very good wine list.
The one caveat is that the parking can be tricky on days when they have no valet and also it is rather difficult to find the place the first time you go there so use your GPS.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
La Crescenta, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quite dinning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

my wife and i had dinner and drinks,great food,had roses delivered,they had them at our table when we were seated ,food was wonderful,drinks good and treatment perfect,nice quite place,ate on patio

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bait & switch.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The restaurant is described as a 1920s Craftsman, but my party of five was sent to an austere curtained patio. We got no warning when I made the reservation. With the heaters it was partly hot and partly cold. The food was pretty good, but after your meal the valet aims your car into a derelict factory area that sends you God-knows-where in a residential neighborhood. They don't seem to care about return business.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“excellent chef, excellent sommelier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had the mushroom risotto for a starter and lamb and cod for our main courses. The mushroom risotto was excellent -- the best mushroom risotto we have eaten in at least 5 years -- and the cod contained an interesting and very tasty melange of fennel,caper berries, and deep fried elephant garlic slices in a fresh made tomato sauce. The wine selected by the sommelier was an excellent and inexpensive Burgundy. Their specially cocktails are extraordinarily well made and I would recommend very highly the Eastside cocktail comprised of gin and muddled mint and cucumber.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Superb special occasion restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wow! Had dinner there Sunday night. Absolutely fabulous food! We have often gone to the Raymond for birthday celebrations but now they must have a new chef. The food, which has always been good, was superb! Each dish was innovative, combining unusual tastes that complemented each other very well. I'm running out of superlatives. This might have been my most interesting, best tasting meal ever! Don't skip dessert! Also, although everything is elegantly presented and looks beautiful, portions are small so be sure to order starters. I had the salad of forgotten roots as starter, scallops for the main meal and shared two desserts - fudge and apple pound cake. Everything was fantastic. Others in our party had salmon which was said to be the best salmon they had ever eaten. Because we all like different kinds of wines, the wine stewart recommended very good glasses of wine for us. The service was excellent and the small, rambling house is charming. I particularly like the local plein aire paintings displayed on the walls. You have to try this restaurant for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raymond Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Raymond Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raymond Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.