We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would rate it five stars if service was faster ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creme de la Crepe

Creme de la Crepe
36 West Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA
626.844.0007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #352 of 603 Restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: French
Description: French Cuisine, Family Dinning, Creperie, Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Description: French Cuisine, Family Dinning, Creperie, Wine Bar
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Would rate it five stars if service was faster ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found this charming restaurant purely by accident ... and if you have all the time in the world, this is the place for you! The only real drawback was the time it took to order and then to actually receive our meals ... because the food was wonderful and the waiter was sweet ... just not fast!
We both ordered the half sandwich and the french onion soup ... mine was the turkey and brie, his was the salmon ... both were excellent and so tasty. We loved the soup, although it certainly wasn't like any other french onion we had ever tasted, but we know we would order it again if we ever return. The sandwiches were just outstanding, the baguette perfect as well.
We had wine (him) and champagne (me) was was very good and reasonably priced.
We ordered our dessert crepe when we ordered our main course, so we were hopeful we would get in good time, as the clock was ticking ... but had to ask several times ... but when it came, oh my ... it was just fantastic. Ours was the banana and strawberry with chocolate sauce, whipped cream and vanilla ice cream ... thank goodness we had earlier decided to share! It is huge.
Thinking more about the time frame, I am wondering if it is the 'fault' of the kitchen or the 'fault' of the waitstaff. A young woman sitting across from us in the outside patio said that if you sit inside, the service is faster .. that might be. And since everything is cooked from scratch, the kitchen might be holding up the service to the tables. Maybe, too, another waitperson would ease the 'tension' of waiting to order, waiting for food and waiting to pay. Just a thought.
We would return again ... just making sure we had more time to enjoy it all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If You Love Crepes ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A delight for crepe lovers. We found this a few days before the Rose Parade and was pleasantly surprised. The crepes were jam packed with lots of stuff. I had the seafood crepe and it was very good. We were served by a jovial and comical waiter for an overall great experience.

I can't understand why or how there could be negative reviews of this restaurant. The crepes are a bit unusual in that they are made from whole wheat (should be healthier) and slightly thicker than traditional crepes. All very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Onion Soup was so Sour and onion less, we waited for 70 minutes for the food to arrive when the place was not even busy . Not going back for sure .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A slice of Paris ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Loving crepes, we headed for Creme de la Crepe while walking through Pasadena the day before the Rose Parade. What a find! The Marine crepe was packed with seafood in a great sauce. The portion was huge as was the side salad. My husband and I shared a bowl of the French Onion soup as well - onions, croutons, gooey cheese in a well-seasoned broth. We couldn't resist a dessert crepe at the end. From our seat in the window, we were well-entertained with the people walking down the small side alley (the restaurant is just off the side of Colorado Ave.) Between the food, the people watching and the background music, it was like having a small slice of Paris for an hour.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The quiche was out of this world, but the savory crepe was creepy! The Lemonade Soda was very good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creme de la Crepe also viewed

 

Been to Creme de la Crepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creme de la Crepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.