We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ike is legendary, my favorite sushi chef in all of LA.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Kimagure

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Kimagure
220 S Raymond Ave., Suite 102, Pasadena, CA
(626) 535-0880
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 519 Restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
los angeles, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ike is legendary, my favorite sushi chef in all of LA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Every time I visit Ike, it's a different experience. I almost always order all sushi omakase, as that is my favorite, but I have tried the regular omakase once or twice.

I love to sit at the sushi bar, but with larger groups, tables are usually necessary. Reservations are essential, especially for the sushi bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No Frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

No bells or whistles, no laser shows, no silly rolls.
Just very good sashimi & sushi. Thoroughly enjoyed my dinner.
Servers were attentive and polite.
Reservations encouraged.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willows, Ca
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Quality...Food, Service, Location, Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Kimagure was highly rated on Yelp, so we tried it when visiting my Sister. Everything was top notch, and reasonably priced for what we received. The bill for three without alcohol was $160 + tip.

The Hamachi & Toro sashimi were particularly good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mind-blowing sushi - in top of a parking lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was taken here by a friend who has eaten with this sushi chef for years. I couldn't work out why anyone would want to drive 15 miles to an anonymous little sushi place near a Metro - but from the moment we started eating I understood. This place is not cheap - but it is worth every penny. The range, freshness and quality of the fish is amazing. The seared salmon sushi was unlike anything I have ever had before and totally brilliant. The miso soup was also very special. Highly recommended

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Kimagure also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Kimagure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Kimagure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.