We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classy French Bistro in Pasadena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheval Bistro - CLOSED

Cheval Bistro
41 South Delacy Street, Pasadena, CA
626.577.4141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A Classy French Bistro in Pasadena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I had supper at Cheval Bistro in Pasadena with my high school classmates and their spouses. The service was excellent and the food high quality. It is a classy place, elegant, not noisy, you can talk and chat without feel like you are competing with noise and sounds from other customers. I had the French Classic, beans, duck confit, pork belly, and sausage in a clay pot, very good, and good-sized portion. My wife had a rabbit dish, she really enjoyed it. Cheval Bistro is situated in Old Pasadena, a good place to stroll and walk after dinner on a beautiful summer evening in southern California.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Classic Julia Child Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This french bistro had a great menu, super service and well executed dishes. A number of the dishes were right out of Julia Child. The coq au vin was wonderful. This was a really pleasant dinner experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Try, but service is not on a par with its owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Smith Brothers are great restaurateurs, but this attempt at a french bistro falls just shy of success, in our experience, due to the occasionally (but too often) cloying and yet inattentive service we've experienced there. Officious waiters are duly self-impressed by their assignment, but don't really treat the customers and their food with attention to detail, letting cold or poorly prepared plates be served un-noticed, while fussing over their formal demeanor and menu.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We go here a lot for dinner and Sunday brunch. Definitely one of our favorites. They have some exceptional wait staff and the food is excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Limited Choices, Disorganized”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The entire experience here was bad. I'm a local and was looking forward to trying out this place. We brought friends with us and we were disappointed and embarrassed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheval Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheval Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.