We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Plus : beds are large and confortable
Nice having coffee/ tea machine and microwave and fridge
The room colors are soft and the paintings nice touch
Lots of closet Space and the closet has a mirror
Some rooms have a whole kitchen
Back rooms looking out to the mountains do not have much noise
Pool is small and next to the road but heated
Bathroom is nice and amenities good
Parking and internet is free
Nice big TV screen
Accommodating staff
No restaurant but plenty in the area
Only problem I had was the breakfast room, too small and the variety very limited

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    77
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
60
53
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Once again i was visiting Pasadena for business and decided to stay at the Vagabond Inn again.
i arrived to the hotel early, before the check-in time, the desk clerk Dave informed me that i would be able to check into the room at no extra charge which was great since it was about 9am.
Dave told me that the room was on the third floor facing the mountains which was nice. he even stated if i wanted some breakfast to help myself before i go up to the room. The room was clean and comfortable with good internet access. Once again Dave thanks for the early check in and a great breakfast spread. I will always stay at The Vagabond Inn when I'm in Pasadena.

Room Tip: stay in a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Since we were in Pasadena for the national championship, the town was packed, and we ended up at the Vagabond basically because it was available. We normally wouldn't stay at a motel-type place. It worked out OK, though. If you want a low-cost option that is acceptable, give this a try.

If you're going to Pasadena as a visitor, chances are good you want to be close to Colorado Blvd (the main shopping and entertainment strip) or Cal Tech. This hotel is close to both. In fact, we parked our car at the hotel and walked to the college, to downtown, and to the Rose Bowl (Go FSU!) with no problems. So that's a big plus.

As far as the property itself, it is just an old-fashioned motel. Rooms open to the parking lot, a tiny lobby, and a minimal "breakfast area" with a narrow but OK selection of bagels, tea, coffee, some fruit, a waffle maker, and yogurt. It was enough to start the day--and free!--but nothing fancy or remarkable.

Our room (211) was also basic. It had two queen beds, a basic closet, and a kinda small bathroom. Our window looked out onto an alley and then a residential area. Considering it was a crazy weekend in Pasadena, we found our room reasonably quiet. The A/C unit is one of those that blows loudly from a unit under the window, but it worked OK and kept the room at a good temperature. The manager (at least I presume it was) is a bit of a character--somewhat gruff and grumpy--but once you get past that, he was pretty helpful. He let us check in quite early, even though he had to contact housekeeping to make sure our room had been cleaned, and we really appreciated that.

So there you have it--a basic motel in a convenient, if not glamorous, location, with so-so amenities and a decent price.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for one of the rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

me and my wife arrived in passadenna, on new years eve , for the rose parade and the rose bowl. The staff at the Inn where very helpful, upon arrival, Are room was on the back side of the Inn , and really couldn't see much being it was night . But in the morning when we woke and opened the curtains, we had a nice view of the mountians ,., The room was very clean and quiet, We had a very nice breakfast, before the rose parade, Marvin at the front desk, was very helpful, and friendly , by giving us directions ,to the places we needed to get to. The next time we are in passadena we would stay at the vagabond again, And would recommend to our friends and family, mike n kim

Room Tip: I would book a room on the back side for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great value for the money. Pet friendly (25.00 fee). Clean rooms free wifi,ample parking and and amazing free breakfast; bagels,waffles, English mu ssinf coffee, yogurt, fruit, cereal. Ok,so it's not the ritz but the staff try hard to please and you don't have to pay $200 or more per night.

Room Tip: Because I had a pet, I asked for ground floor. Room #105 was perfect. The bathroom was large handi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! I was pleased that the hotel had a pet policy. I always travel with my two dogs a miniature poodle and cocker spaniel. My pets are my other children! The manager and desk clerk were very friendly and accommodating. The rate was very good and with my AARP membership card I received an additional discount ! The hotel also offers several amenities of which I will describe a few below!

1. Continental breakfast with a waffle grill to make fresh waffles. Fresh fruit, yogurt, world class coffee, bagels and other fresh and sweet pastries and cereals.
2. Free WiFi.
3. Cable TV with a modern 55 +inch Flat panel !!
4. My room had an iron, ironing board, microwave and refrigerator.

Room Tip: If you are traveling to Pasadena,CA this hotel is centrally located and perfect to access all that P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Room was dirty and poorly laid out. Nothing was refreshed unless I asked. Not even plastic cups!
Asked if they had any aspirin and was given the directions to Rite-Aid. Good Thai restaurant across the street and a long walk to the convention center; just under a mile.

Room Tip: Stay in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcatain1, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I"m sorry that the hotel was not up to your standards. i wish that you had informed the front desk or myself of the problems with your room. The Hotel takes pride in cleanliness and customer service to the highest level. I will talk with the housekepping dept regarding this matter.
I hope in the future that you give the hotel another chance to show you how good we are.

Thank you
Dave Catain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Address: 1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#5 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#9 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Blocks away from Caltech, close to old town Pasadena shopping area, close to Pasadena business center and the playhouse district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Vagabond Hotel Executive Pasadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.