We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vag·a·bond [vag-uh-bond]: (3) disreputable; worthless” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Pasadena
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“vag·a·bond [vag-uh-bond]: (3) disreputable; worthless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Cons: Internet does not work well in rooms, space in room is limited, pool is on the sidewalk, room smells like mildew, the AC was blasting with the windows wide open when I arrived, window to room is at stairwell eye-level, lots of road noise.

Pros: I'll update later if I find any. Cheap deal I guess.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not at the stairwell and perhaps ask where internet is strongest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcatain1, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I would like to apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. We
take pride in our property and would like to make sure these issues do
not continue. We have been shampooing the carpets throughout the
property. Your room had been shampooed the morning of your arrival, and
unfortunately the housekeepers had left the windows open and the AC running to air out the room and dry the carpet. They were to return later to check it and close the windows and turn off the AC. Unfortunately we failed to do that. I do apologise for our oversight. This may have led to the displeasing smell you encountered in the room.

If you have any more comments or suggestions regarding your visit, please contact the hotel directly at (626) 449-3170 or by email at vagabondpasadena@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    70
    23
    10
    11
See reviews for
55
50
30
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely average in most ways. The room was comfortable, but nothing special. It's a little better than average in location; a little worse in its complimentary breakfast. Since the price is a little lower than average for the area, it is an option well worth considering, especially if you are not intending to spend much time at the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was our fourth stay. The staff is always very friendly and helpful at the reception desk and housekeeping. Mike was very patient with us with all our questions. The room was very clean as usual and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was good as we expected, make your own waffles, toast, bagels, eggs, cereal, fruit, tea, coffee and juices. The pool was very inviting and we really enjoyed it.
Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Pasadena.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business in Pasadena. First thing I noticed when i walked in was that the room smelled heavily of smoke that someone has made an attempt to cover up. Window blinds were dirty and had holes in them. Walls had unidentifiable stains on them. Stayed on the third floor, but wifi had a very weak signal. There is no way this hotel is deserving of its current rating on trip advisor. Mike at front desk was extremely nice and professional, but the rooms are terrible here. Would not recommend and would not stay here again. It is worth it to pay a little more an stay at one of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcatain1, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I would like to extend my apologize for your recent experience with our hotel. From your review it is difficult to identify exactly which room you were assigned. We do have some smoking rooms and I can only assume that you were assigned to stay in one of our smoking room. We take the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously . We are in the process of replacing our drapes and your room might have been the one that is due to be replaced.

Could you please let us know which room you were commenting on so that we can quickly address the issues you have raised. If you have any other concerns or comments and would like to address them to us directly please feel free to call the property at (626) 449-3170 or by email at vagabondpasadena@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is located close to the Calthec (about 10-15 minutes walk). Rooms are equipped in microwave and fridge. There is possibility to make laundry. Personnel is nice and helpful. Breakfast was very poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

dog friendly hotel, but no place for pets to do their business except around the neighborhood. too bad. but, responsible pet owners pick up their mess.
very clean and quiet hotel, even the hotel sit on the busy Colorado Blvd.
i've stayed here multiple times. and, i will surely come back in here.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly for reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had come down for a spa day at Glen Ivy and were meeting our friends in Pasadena for shopping the next day. We were very pleased to stay at this hotel! It was very clean and quiet. We stayed on the third floor, as someone on Trip Advisor had recommended. Very nice sheets and shower. The air conditioner was noisy, but we were able to keep our windows open, which was great! Great flat screen t.v. and comfortable beds. It was a great place to stay, not fancy, but very reasonable, too! I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 311 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Address: 1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Blocks away from Caltech, close to old town Pasadena shopping area, close to Pasadena business center and the playhouse district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Vagabond Hotel Executive Pasadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.