We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark dingy smelly rooms.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 hotels in Pasadena
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dark dingy smelly rooms.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business in Pasadena. First thing I noticed when i walked in was that the room smelled heavily of smoke that someone has made an attempt to cover up. Window blinds were dirty and had holes in them. Walls had unidentifiable stains on them. Stayed on the third floor, but wifi had a very weak signal. There is no way this hotel is deserving of its current rating on trip advisor. Mike at front desk was extremely nice and professional, but the rooms are terrible here. Would not recommend and would not stay here again. It is worth it to pay a little more an stay at one of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcatain1, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I would like to extend my apologize for your recent experience with our hotel. From your review it is difficult to identify exactly which room you were assigned. We do have some smoking rooms and I can only assume that you were assigned to stay in one of our smoking room. We take the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously . We are in the process of replacing our drapes and your room might have been the one that is due to be replaced.

Could you please let us know which room you were commenting on so that we can quickly address the issues you have raised. If you have any other concerns or comments and would like to address them to us directly please feel free to call the property at (626) 449-3170 or by email at vagabondpasadena@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    69
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
53
50
30
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is located close to the Calthec (about 10-15 minutes walk). Rooms are equipped in microwave and fridge. There is possibility to make laundry. Personnel is nice and helpful. Breakfast was very poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

dog friendly hotel, but no place for pets to do their business except around the neighborhood. too bad. but, responsible pet owners pick up their mess.
very clean and quiet hotel, even the hotel sit on the busy Colorado Blvd.
i've stayed here multiple times. and, i will surely come back in here.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly for reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had come down for a spa day at Glen Ivy and were meeting our friends in Pasadena for shopping the next day. We were very pleased to stay at this hotel! It was very clean and quiet. We stayed on the third floor, as someone on Trip Advisor had recommended. Very nice sheets and shower. The air conditioner was noisy, but we were able to keep our windows open, which was great! Great flat screen t.v. and comfortable beds. It was a great place to stay, not fancy, but very reasonable, too! I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 311 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon,UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Enjoyed our recent stay at this moderately priced well run motel.
Good free continental breakfast.
Very helpful owner and clean rroms.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at Vagabond. The hotel was well located the room was really clean, and good breakfast in the morning. Definitely I will stop at this place next time I go to Pasadena, CA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My Family of 5 were excited to start our summer trip when our transmission went out while traveling through Pasadena at midnight. We were able to rent one of the last rooms that night at the Vagabond Inn Executive Hotel, so we could get a couple hours of sleep before dealing with our truck. The next day I arranged to have my transmission fixed and Dave Cartain went above and beyond helping us secure rooms and accommodate us (including our dogs) during this stressful time. As many of you know when dealing with repair shops, you never know when they will finish. Dave held rooms for us until we knew when we could get on the road again. My wife and I are were able to relax and actually enjoy our stay In Pasadena. There are many restaurants within walking distance and a inexpensive movie theater. My children loved swimmting in the pool. Dave, if you ever read this, My wife and I can't thank you enough.
Mike and Debbie Hopper
Sonora CA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Address: 1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Blocks away from Caltech, close to old town Pasadena shopping area, close to Pasadena business center and the playhouse district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Vagabond Hotel Executive Pasadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.