We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at Vagabond. The hotel was well located the room was really clean, and good breakfast in the morning. Definitely I will stop at this place next time I go to Pasadena, CA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    77
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
60
53
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My Family of 5 were excited to start our summer trip when our transmission went out while traveling through Pasadena at midnight. We were able to rent one of the last rooms that night at the Vagabond Inn Executive Hotel, so we could get a couple hours of sleep before dealing with our truck. The next day I arranged to have my transmission fixed and Dave Cartain went above and beyond helping us secure rooms and accommodate us (including our dogs) during this stressful time. As many of you know when dealing with repair shops, you never know when they will finish. Dave held rooms for us until we knew when we could get on the road again. My wife and I are were able to relax and actually enjoy our stay In Pasadena. There are many restaurants within walking distance and a inexpensive movie theater. My children loved swimmting in the pool. Dave, if you ever read this, My wife and I can't thank you enough.
Mike and Debbie Hopper
Sonora CA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I attended a conference at the convention center, and in an attempt to save my work group some money stayed at this hotel. It is a basic place to sleep and shower. My room was clean and I didn't notice any odors. If you like fancy amenities or plan to spend a lot of time in your room, stay somewhere else. On the other hand, there was free parking and a free decent breakfast. The microwave and fridge were a nice touch, but I didn't spend enough time in my room to put them to use. It's a little too far to walk to the convention center, so if you fly in and don't have a car, stay at one of the walking hotels like the Hilton.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is the price range we usually stay at for hotels, but we've had to put up with less than standard fare. BUT, we were wonderfully surprised at this place; the room was the cleanest we have ever seen, the manager and all the staff were warm and friendly, the room had what we needed, daily room cleaning was thorough, the public spaces were clean, parking was free, and the breakfast was amazing. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.
J & T

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side of the building; Quiet and a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I reserved this room weeks ahead of time for a visit to caltech and guaranteed the room with a credit card. When we landed at lax after a long flight we received an email stating that we had cancelled our reservation. We called immediately and were informed that the hotel had cancelled it. The unhelpful man on the phone also informed us that all hotels in pasadena were full and offered no assistance in finding a room for my son and me. I have never been left hugh and dry by a hotel like this.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcatain1, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Yes you did have a reservation at the Hotel, when you made the reservation you did give a credit card. The Hotel that weekend was at 100 percent occupancy. The hotel policy is that all credit cards must obtain an approval code from the credit card that the reservation was made from. It was unfortunate that your credit card was unable to get an approval code. The hotel held your room your as late as possible which was around 11:30pm as a courtesy to you. I'm very sorry for what has happened but the hotel policy is that all credit cards that cannot get an approval code from the credit card that was given upon arrival will be cancelled and sold to the next available customer. I hope in the future you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Free parking! A plus in Pasadena. The hotel has a free breakfast. Nice to have coffee and a waffle or cereal before you are off and running. The service was very good. Asked directions and advice about a couple of stores. The young man working that day printed some items for us on the computer. The man who I presume is the owner was there during the weekday mornings and gave us some restaurant advice. The hotel is conveniently located. The only complaint I have is the stains on the carpet in our room. The carpet was dark but the stains were darker. The rest of the room was impeccably clean.

Room Tip: Ice machine is on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, CT
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Small rooms but clean, comfortable and great value. Road noise for first floor room, but second floor in back is quieter. Breakfast was okay. Paid $80 a night for room. Good location for Caltech visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Address: 1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#5 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#9 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Blocks away from Caltech, close to old town Pasadena shopping area, close to Pasadena business center and the playhouse district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Vagabond Hotel Executive Pasadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.