We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel anywhere else would probably deserve a three star. However, the location is perfect so here are the 4 stars! Walking distance to Colorado Blv and all sort of great restaurants and shopping.

The rooms were nice, a typical Courtyard Marriot, comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff was very nice and friendly. For breakfast we used the Starbucks in the lobby area and bought some coffee and fruit there. Free wi-fi is always a plus. The fitness center is small and very closed but it seems to be enough as we never saw anyone waiting on any of the machines. The fitness center is clean and they check on it periodically, there are towels, water and headphones readily available.

We would definitely go back to this hotel if in Pasadena.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks so much for the fourth STAR! In our minds, you are the STAR but we are very appreciative.

Have a wonderful Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    227
    71
    28
    14
See reviews for
141
123
34
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
temecula
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Oh my, I blasted this Courtyard last year, when I requested a quiet room and was placed in direct contact with renovations of rooms, waking up to drilling and hammering at 8:00! I received my reward this past weekend by getting one of those redone rooms! WOW! Jacuzzi tub, upgrades to desk, TV, a very comfy bed, fridge, microwave etc. I was very impressed and could have spent a week or more there! Check in was professional and I was given a pool view, which was so inviting! This location has happy hour and a restaurant; great location to walking around beautiful Pasadena. Overall a perfect experience!

Room Tip: I ask for a pool view room, some rooms face street and the traffic noise might bother. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Well… it was so nice to have you back again at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. Thanks so much for giving us a second chance after your first experience. We are most appreciative and hope to see you back again soon.
Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I went to Pasadena for a conference and spent one night here. The hotel is nice and serves some food and wine in the lively lobby. I found this Courtyard to be comfortable and clean, and the staff was very friendly. The best thing about the hotel is the location; I really enjoyed walking around the surrounding streets admiring the beautiful architecture. Moreover, it's located 2 blocks from Colorado Street where there are many shops and restaurants. Highly recommended if you want to walk around Old Town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
So nice to have you staying with us at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. Thanks so much for sharing your experience and very thankful you got to enjoy all that Pasadena has to offer in your short time here.
Come back again soon, there is some much more to do here, including Concerts in the Park –directly behind the hotel, the Norton Simon Museum and Huntington Gardens just to name a few.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a Courtyard, and therefore you get what you expect (PS: I am lifetime platinum at Marriott)....that being said.....

This location is superb, you are only a few blocks from the center of town..

Pros:

Location: close to downtown Pasadena; close to freeway
Price: reasonable
Quiet
Nice room
Decent cafe in hotel (nice breakfast options)
Fridge in room
Hairdryer in room (got shower cap from front desk)
Friendly (helpful) staff

Cons:

Parking fee (I always hate paying for parking)
No room safe
AC never really cooled the unit down to a comfortable 68 at night

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
As a lifetime Platinum member, thank you so much for staying with us at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena and for your loyalty to Marriott.
Glad to hear our great location helped make this a great experience for you.
Safe travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Location is very good: tucking in a quiet corner 2 blocks away from the main shopping street of Old Pasadena. Restaurants shops aplenty. Close to 210 ramp/exit.
Old building recently renovated with nice/modern lobby. Friendly, helpful staff. Room, bath is roomy. Microwave, fridge but no inroom safe. No central air conditioning but having a loud inroom air conditioner (biggest issue). Pleasant partial view of an old church on top floor window. $17 daily parking fee.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first stay at this CY hotel and we were impressed. Now, not all of the CY hotels have had entire renovations, some may have a nice lobby and such, but once you get to the room it is "early nursing home". Yes, brand inconsistency is a CY issue, but not with this hotel. Lobby, common space and all the rooms seem freshly renovated and are quite nice. Our room overlooked the interior courtyard and it was quite and we could open the windows at night for some fresh air. Generally good staff, a few stars and some who could use work on understand the needs of the customer. This hotel is prime for walking around Old Town Pasadena. If you haven't been there you are missing a treat. New LA area hot spot. Excellent shops, great places to eat and drink. Overall this is a good Courtyard, so good that we changed some reservations and return to this hotel for a second visit.

Room Tip: Rooms that open onto the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our prime location, great places to eat and newly renovated hotel. This hotel is the new direction of The Courtyard brand. As one of our recent guest said so well, “this is not your Father’s Courtyard”. Of course none of that would be possible without you the customer. So on behalf of myself, our team and The Courtyard brand in general, thank you!
Have a wonderful summer and we very much look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Courtyard is amazing. Its like they can read my mind. I checked in with ease, and walked into a beautiful room that had everything I wanted. A mini fridge, a microwave, usb ports everywhere, outlets near the bed, extra fluffy towels, a comfortable plush bed, a desk to work out, and no bellhops annoying us for tips(dont get me wrong, I love bellhops, but on business trips, I just want to get to my room!). There was a nice little sofa/ottoman set that was great to lounge on, and a little cafe downstairs that was actually affordable. A $4.99 kids meal was a bargain. There are also complimentary chocolates at the front desk. I was a bit embarrassed taking one after another though, but I couldnt help it, they were darn good.

And it doesn't stop there. The location is just awesome. I walked to the shops in Old Town after work, and my feet didn't get tired. Wow!

Thank you Courtyard, you set the standard for business travelers(with my family tagging along!)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#4 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.