We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Danville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not a good choice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

when I chose this hotel for a recent stay, they told me there was some renovation taking place. When we did arrive the entire place was under construction and workers were noisy and went beyond times we were told. Dusty, and dirty. Newly renovated rooms were awkward and uncomfortable. Fire alarms went off a 3AM, entire hotel evacuated......our second night was at the Hilton Pasadena and we loved this place. Clean and great service!

Room Tip: No rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Roxanne,

I am so sorry that your stay was not a positive one. We are at the very tail end of a full rooms renovation and apologize that it affected your stay.
Super sensitive fire life safety systems are both a blessing and a curse. Many years ago I once asked my boss what could be worse than a fire alarm going off in the middle of the night.... He told me that a real fire at any time of the day. I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you.

I hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly should you have plans in the area.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    206
    63
    27
    13
See reviews for
128
109
32
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is within short walking distance of downtown Pasadena. Despite undergoing renovation, it is clean, comfortable, and the upgraded rooms are very nice. Free parking, free wi-if couldn't be beat either. The small restaurant was good for breakfast and reasonably priced. Hotel staff were also very helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience here at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. Everything is within easy walking distance. Glad you like the newly upgraded rooms and most of all thanks for appreciating our hotel staff.
Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Check in was quick & efficient. Unlucky us we got a room that had not been renovated. The only rm avail was king w/sleeper sofa. Rm #174? was too small for 2 adults & 1 teen. Could not open closet bc door was too small. If I wanted to use the iron board I wouldn't be able to get it out. Sleeper sofa would not open fully without moving the fridge a few inches. Whoever sleeps on sofa mattress should weigh no more than 100 lbs. The king bed was excellent however. As was the cafe in the lobby. Pasadena is a lovely city and this hotel is in the perfect location to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. In the very near future all rooms will be renovated. Sofa beds are also brand new so perhaps a bit more comfortable for your teenager. Glad you enjoyed the location with many of Pasadena’s best activities right outside our door.
Hope to see you back again soon …with or without the teenager :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoga Park CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is located a few short blocks north of Colorado Blvd. which is the main drag. It is a short walk to the Paseo Colorado mall. The Norton Simon art museum is several blocks east, and the smaller PMCA and Pacific-Asia museums are not far to the west. The room was not luxurious, but was a good size, There is free Internet in the lobby. I can't comment on the fitness center, since they were working on it. The lobby is large and has a cafe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. Looks like you got to enjoy our great location with all the fun things to do in the immediate area.
Quick update on the Fitness Center. It is almost competed and will be finished in the next day or two. All new equipment and décor should make your work out even more enjoyable.
Thanks again for staying with us and we very much hope to see you back in the near future. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This Hotel is vey nice and close to the 134 freeway. The hotel is being remodeled but we arrived after it stopped for the day and left before it started in the morning. The staff were very friendly and professional. We received a small gift for being Marriott club members. We were put in a newly remodeled room. It was vey nice and spacious. The beds were firm and very comfy. The pool area was beautiful and very relaxing. Great landscaping. I wonderful place to decompress after a long day. The only down side was the bathroom sink area is small. The blow dryer was in a dresser drawer. There isn't much space to set things in the sink or bathroom area. A small stand of some sort would be helpful in the bathroom. There is a charge for parking. I would gladly come again and plan for more time to relax by the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. So glad you got some “me” time to relax by the pool. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We love this hotel and come here every chance we get. Everything is simply excellent. I have even become comfortable in the new lobby,which serves a delicious egg-white and spinach breakfast sandwich. The prior manager, Tim Bristol has been promoted to a new, bigger job -- and even he kept his office in the hotel. Now, they have remodeled and upgraded the rooms. And, i would like to correct one reviewer's error. There are at least three elevators (two more in the back) and perhaps four. I love this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Charlie,

Thank you so much for your kind words. So glad you are liking the newly remodeled rooms. And yes we have many elevators, three just like you said.
And that Tim Bristol character you are referring to….yes he has been promoted, but graces us with his presence frequently.
Thank you again for being such a loyal customer. We truly appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for business every couple months. The rooms were showing major signs of their age, but they finally are renovating the rooms. I was on the verge of switching hotels in Pasadena, but now the rooms are clean, updated for business traveler, and modern. Just wish they would have installed thermostat instead of keeping window a/c. Upgraded toiletries would be nice too. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Marcus, at the front desk, always has a smile and is always asking if he can help. Hotel is within walking distance from shopping and restaurants on Colorado Blvd. I reco this hotel for business and family traveler.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. So glad you hung in there and stayed with us throughout the challenging time. We have about a month to go before all rooms are complete so the end is near. We truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize Marcus at the front desk. We will make sure he gets a big “shout out” from our team in appreciation.
Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.