We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great location/service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Walking distance to anything you might need from Old Town Pasadena, Freeway & Rose Bowl close as well. When I arrived, the young man at the check in counter mentioned that they were renovating, so he was going to put me on a quiet, floor. Nice! His recommendations for dinner were spot on and he even checked with me on my way back in to see how the food was.

Slept well, bed was comfy, room was clean.

$17 valet or $15 self parK? Go valet. This is actually a good deal for California.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. Many dining choices within easy walking distance make this a great location. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner and time spent in Old Pasadena.

We hope travels bring you back to Pasadena in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    206
    63
    27
    13
See reviews for
128
110
32
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for business in the area last week. We had requested a handicap room as he has minor mobility issues. Upon check in our request was honored. Many times times that type of room is not available. However, the room was very dated and dingy; making matters worse was the fact that the entire view faced a solid stucco wall four feet away. The past seven years we have found that while traveling, people with disabilities are really given second class citizen treatment. The front desk staff rectified the situation with a regular room and I assisted my husband instead. Maybe it helps that I'm Lifetime Platinum Elite.

Unfortunately housekeeping was very poor. I mean disgusting-yuk! We gave up after asking 2-3 times that the previous guests toenails be vacuumed, the black ring around the tub be cleaned, and the bedding was suspect. No Heavenly beds here. The pillows were like concrete blocks and we woke up aching both mornings. We agree with others about the room spray. There was a continuous sewer smell in the halls and the rooms, so possibly it is to cover up a structural or plumbing problem.

To add insult to injury, no one in housekeeping speaks English, ditto with the valets; so asking simple questions was very frustrating. They did smile a lot and seemed nice though.

The positives were the fantastic location, valet parking was definatley worth $17/night and there are at least 50 restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The front desk staff is warm and helpful. Skip the bistro. All in all, we would return when the rooms and hotel are finished being updated and thoroughly sterilized. Hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: Wait until it is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. Clearly we fell far short of your expectations and for that we truly apologize.
While the brand new rooms should alleviate many of the concerns you voiced, the issues with housekeeping should have never happened. If you would like to reach out to me directly at #626-755-2521, I would like to get more details so that we may take immediate corrective action.

Again, we truly appreciate your thoughts both good and bad on your experience and will work with them in mind as we strive for continuous improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. The location was perfect, within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in downtown Pasadena. Our room on the 4th floor was clean and quiet, and we got a good night's sleep. The only downside to this hotel in my opinion is that it seemed a bit overpriced. Other than that, we had no complaints!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank for taking the time to share your experience. The Courtyard by Marriott Old Town is the perfect location for many fun activities. The hotel is traditionally a very busy one, however, pricing does flex so keep your eyes and ears open for the price point that works for you.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback, it is truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way to LAX in room #534. Self serve parking is $15, although there seems to be a public parking across the street and we were not brace enough to determine if it would work for us. This is a conventional and comfortable Marriott hotel. The room included a fridge, bathroom amenities, microwave, large bed, sofa with table, wifi, and coffeemaker. Right around the corner on Sunday morning was a little block fresh market. The hotel is within walking distance to multiple restaurants and (a slightly longer walk) the Norton Simon Museum. The worst part about the evening was the fact that the hotel hosts various parties (probably weddings) so at 1 - 3 am in the morning, there were loud noises of drunken people, including one with a dog!! Marriott should have a policy similar to the one we found at the hotel in Temecula which required us to sign a document saying we would be quiet after 10:00. It is really bad that people can't behave themselves.

Room Tip: go as far as you can from any wedding parties!!! Don't know how you do this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. You have provided valuable feedback that will be shared with both our line staff and senior management. So sorry to hear that some loud individuals affected what seemed like an otherwise nice stay. We do work very hard to address any noise concerns as soon as we are advised. Again, I do apologize that your peace was disturbed.

Wishing you safe, fun and peaceful travels in 2014 and beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

having chemical sensitivities, i'm very aware of fragrances. imagine my dismay on checking into my room at the marriott in pasadena and being confronted with an overwhelming smell similar to a car air freshener. it literally burned my eyes. at first i thought it must be scented soap so i checked out the toiletries and that wasn't the case. i called down to the front desk to ask what was being used in the rooms. i was told it was a fresh scent that was sprayed directly into the rooms. why would any hotel in this day and age need to spray air freshener? what are they trying to cover up? isn't the smell of a clean room enough without dousing it with perfume? i asked for a room without the smell and it took over 30 minutes to find a room that hadn't been sprayed down. but of course, that room still had a faint odor to it. i had to take an allergy pill and my eyes still watered. marriott , you disappoint me. i thought better of you. other marriotts i've stayed in don't resort to this type of disguise. i hope management reads this and reevaluates it's housekeeping policies and along with non smoking rooms they initiate fragrance free rooms too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback and so sorry it took 30 minutes to get a room that was best for you. Air freshener and scent is such a personal thing. Every major department store has one and it has spread to every major hotel brand having their own “scent”. Sticking the perfect balance is the challenge. What is too much for one is not enough for others. We try our best to balance to balance for all. Clearly we fell short as it relates to you and for that we do apologize. The hotel absolutely does read these comments daily and review them regularly with both line staff and Senior Management.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by how good the staff were at this Courtyard, since I'd stayed at a few over the prior few months in different states. They were very welcoming and accommodating (all but 1 who was not very helpful with the parking ticket directions..). It's centrally located, the room was standard but clean and roomy. It looks pretty dated on the outside but is pretty fresh and clean looking inside. We didn't spend a lot of time inside the hotel since we were on the go, but it was definitely a nice place to hang our hats. Be ready for the corn maize though. Many entrances and a long, weird trek from the front desk to the elevator. By the end of our 4 night stay, we had the various street and car park entrances down.

We happened to be there just before the Rose Bowl festivities, and appreciated the festive lobby with the Spartans and Cardinal decorations.

The price was good considering the excellent, central location right by Old Town. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: It's a matter of taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised by how good the staff were at this Courtyard, since I'd stayed at a few over the prior few months in different states. They were very welcoming and accommodating (all but 1 who was not very helpful with the parking ticket directions..). It's centrally located, the room was standard but clean and roomy. It looks pretty dated on the outside but is pretty fresh and clean looking inside. We didn't spend a lot of time inside the hotel since we were on the go, but it was definitely a nice place to hang our hats. Be ready for the corn maize though. Many entrances and a long, weird trek from the front desk to the elevator. By the end of our 4 night stay, we had the various street and car park entrances down.

We happened to be there just before the Rose Bowl festivities, and appreciated the festive lobby with the Spartans and Cardinal decorations.

The price was good considering the excellent, central location right by Old Town. We will stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for the 2014 Tournament of Roses Parade. It was a great location for the parade. We could walk to our grandstand seats using the parallel street to Colorado Blvd. so we were not in the huge crowds. It was also convenient to Old Town Pasadena so we could walk to many restaurants and shops. The hotel was a bit worn, but the staff was great and very helpful If I ever return, I would definitely stay here again. My only complaint was the inflated price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Arlene,

A very Happy New Year to you and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. We truly appreciate you recognizing our great staff as well as our convenient location. We are currently updating all of our guest rooms right now as we speak so the next time you stay with us it will look brand new.
We very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.