We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location walking distance to Old Town Pasadena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location walking distance to Old Town Pasadena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We took a foodie trip down to LA and this location served as a great base and launching point. Most places we went to in LA was a 30 minute drive. Additionally, the hotel is 1.5 blocks from all the action of downtown Pasadena full of its own restaurants and shops. Parking at the hotel is $15/nt for self park, $17/nt for valet.

Pros:
- Staff are very courteous
- Location

Cons:
- Decor is a little outdated
- Rooms are mostly clean, but there was some mold building up on the ceiling corners above the bathtub.
- TVs are on the small side (26") compared to other Courtyard Marriott's we've stayed at in the past.

Overall, it was a good hotel and good value. We would consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear we served as an excellent spot to stay for your foodie trip to the area! We are so very close to many of those amazing shops and restaurants that Old Pasadena is known for! We look forward to future stays and thank you again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    206
    63
    27
    13
See reviews for
127
109
32
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of a trip around LA. It was the nicest hotel and part of LA that I visited. Efficient desk staff, who kindly allowed me to check-in early. Well-appointed and clean room with fridge, microwave and coffee machine. The multi-storey car park adjoins the hotel and allows you to self-park on the same floor as your room. Nice pool area - a shame I didn't have a chance to use it during my short stay. Pasdena has a wide choice of places to eat & drink. As with other Courtyard properties, there is free WiFi and computer terminals in the reception area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay. We are so glad to hear that we were one of your best stops when travelling the area! Our staff is well trained to serve all of our guests and give them the best experience possible! We look forward to your future visits to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice people here. Rooms are a little old and small, but you can't beat the location. My first day, I was blow drying my hair and the whole mounting came off of the wall. I called the front desk and when I returned, there was a brand new blow dryer installed. How nice. Didn't eat the food here, as I am not a high enough rewards member to get the free meal. Great Nepalese restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share with us about your stay! We are so glad to hear our service exceeded your expectations as that is our goal. Our location is very nice and convenient located within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. We look forward to your future stays in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was here for two weeks in February of 2013 with my mom and my brother. We came all the way from Sweden and got to the hotel in the morning. My brother and I started talking to the staff and spent most of the 2 next weeks doing that.
That night we were starving from our jet lag, but all we had to do if we were hungry was go down to the market in the hotel and get a fruit salad at 5 in the morning. Also the bistro breakfast is incredible. I recommend the french toast, because it's a perfect blend of unhealthy and delicious.
And my family rented a car from budget, that the hotel helped us with, that was incredibly smooth. I believe that one could get manicures on tuesday evenings. The manicures were very cheap, and really pretty.
We were there when they had the Oscar gala, and let me tell you, this Courtyard by Marriott is very good at the Oscars. They gave me and my brother popcorn from their popcorn machine and we bet on winners.
Do not get me started on the pool. Dear god that body of water is remarkable.
I could easily go on for quite a while but I won't. Anyways, if you have a thirteen-year old girl like me, TAKE HER HERE.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Our goal for every guest that walks through our door is to receive the up-most service that you have gotten and we thank you for sharing that with us! Our location, property and most of all staff is awesome and we are so very proud to call us the Courtyard by Marriott Pasadena! We hope to see you in your future travels to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our family stayed for a week and loved it. The location is GREAT , within walking distance of shopping and restaurants ( Both Chains and local flavor ). We had excellent service from the minute we walked in until the minute we left. The staff went out of their way to provide excellent service !! I never walked in or out the front door without hearing a genuine how are you doing today , welcome back or near the end of the week "welcome home ". The staff were all very knowledgeable about the area and always willing to answer questions. The room was clean and well appointed. The pool was always clean with pool towels and comfortable chairs. Loved the stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was located in the front of the hotel. We had a very nice view . All floors open to the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your wonderful experience with us! We are so glad to hear that we were your choice of stay for your one week of travel to the Pasadena area! Our staff certainly enjoyed having you here! We look forward to your future stays in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I love this hotel - not only are you near the heart of Old Town Pasadena with all the fun shops and restaurants - but you are a couple of blocks away from the City Hall (a beautiful old Spanish style building that really sets the tone of the city).
Great staff from the desk folks to the Michael - the concierge. He's quick to print out a map for you or just "be really nice" to start your day off right.
The hotel is clean and has a nice coffee/snack place to grab something quick to eat. The patio has a several nice places to sit and enjoy the "pretty" of California - and nice sunshine. I also like that valet parking is not over the top expensive ($17). Only two dollars more than self-park ($15). We recently held a conference there - and the staff just did everything possible to accommodate my guests. Thanks so much for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share with us about your stay! Your kind words about our staff, location and city were so great to hear! We certainly hope that we will see you in your next travels to the Pasadena area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel from the moment our shuttle got us there the staff was very friendly and just nice.The room was excellent every time you go through the lobby they ask how you are and that is amazing.To all the chefs in the morning JUST EXCELLENT.The hotel is so close to shops and bars and the Rose Bowl.We walked to the UCLA game and it was nice.I will say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed.Thank you and go Ucla Bruins.

Room Tip: The Rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us upon your visit to the UCLA game! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience our excellent service. We hope to see you in your future travels to the area! We appreciate you taking the time to share with us about your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.