We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ultra convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pretty good overall, and really close to town and all the activities. Only negative, it was noisy! The pool area was very nice, as was the lobby lounges with private TVs. Liked the Starbucks in the lobby, and being near Russell's Restaurant didn't hurt either! Easy to walk to town and the adjacent park had entertainment at night on the weekends. All in all, every possible convenience plus a lot of extras too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Traveler, We are so glad to hear you liked our "ultra-convenient" location. We are very fortunate to have a lot within walking distance to our hotel. We look forward to your future stays in the area! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    206
    63
    27
    13
See reviews for
128
109
32
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

About 2 blocks from the Old Town on Colorado Blvd. Lots of places to eat, and shop. Good location to visit Hollywood and the area. Lobby area is very large and comfortable. Parking is $15 and $17 for Valet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your experience you have had at our hotel. Our location is very sweet and has many shops and restaurants in walking distance! We look forward to your future stays in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I agree with other reviewers that the rooms seem a little tired in their decor -- there are signs of age here and there. But the pool area is nice, and after a hot day moving my child into college it was lovely to have a swim.
The lobby area is more updated, and I really appreciate that you can walk into town easily from this hotel. I even walked to the Norton Simon museum, and there is actually a Gold Line metro one block away (I'm from the NYC area -- I like public transport).
The free internet always worked well, which I don't always find to be the case at hotels. I didn't have any trouble with noise in my room, which was towards the back of the hotel. There is parking, and the garage is attached to the hotel, but there is a fee.
One quibble -- the sink area, which was outside the toilet/tub room, was small, and didn't have a lot of space for toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Traveler, Thank you so much for taking a moment to share with us about your stay! We are glad our pool area was a perfect spot for you to cool down after moving in your college student! Renovation for our sleeping rooms are in our plans for the future. Like when you renovate one room in your house, it makes the other rooms look a little tired. This has been the situation when we renovated our lobby. We hope to see you in the near future in your travels to the Pasadena area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent three nights here recently and never got one good night's sleep. The room is comfortable enough and relatively clean, but could use "freshening" - furniture showing chips and marks, as are the walls, which are paper thin. Seems a lot of young people stay here, with loud voices, loud music and disregard for others as they bang down the halls and slam doors. I was waiting in the lobby for the shuttle at 3 a.m. when a group arrived back from partying and you'd think they were in a fraternity house! The people at the front desk are okay. Incompetent, but smiling while they say they'll arrange your airport shuttle and then don't. The concierge is arrogant and dismissive. The lobby is very nice with a cafe/bar. So, when you walk in, you think "wow...this will be nice." Then it isn't.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are most thankful for your feedback and time spent here Pasadena.

We are sorry that noise from other guests became a factor and made your experience less than a positive one. I would certainly welcome additional details on your experience with our front desk and our Concierge with the hopes of correcting these issues immediately. My direct line is #626.755.2521.

Many thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

With mixed reviews on here, it almost makes you reconsider staying at this hotel. But to rest assure you it was a fabulous five night stay for my boyfriend and myself. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment sharing with us about your stay! Our staff does the very best to make every guest feel comfortable and at home. We look forward to your future stays in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been staying to this property since 2008 and back in the time I wrote a good review for it. Year after year the offerings towards the guests reduced and the main selling point remains its location very close to the Old downtown, shopping, restaurants and the well known City Hall.

I just completed my last stay last week and decided not to return anymore, there are some options out there and finally, for each of us, it is what is in it for me, what it makes it different than others. Unfortunatelly the answer is: nothing. The Courtyard Pasadena Old Town is an expensive hotel with nothing in for me.

Objectively looking the rooms are beat, the furniture is old, the rooms are dirty, the wall paper is peeling off on the walls, nothing changed in these rooms in the last 5 years. Yes, the lobby was redone in Dec 2011 and I stayed there through the renovation period as well. Since then the coffee in the lobby was removed, initially they changed the hours when they were offering it and then they changed the coffee brand and the creamers.......but this was also competing with the bistro (lower revenue in the morning) so they removed the complimentary morning coffee altogether.

At check-in you were receiving a complimentary bag of goodies, in 2008 was full with water, nuts, cookies, cereal bars, mixed nuts, etc...in time the bag got thinner and recently removed.....sorry still offered for some select guests.

It took a while to realize that things changed, but when you stay and objectively look at things and evolution come to the conclusion that is time for change. I had colleagues that started to stay at other establisments in the area some time ago telling me that Courtyard is not what it used to be, took me a while to come at the same conclusion and decive it is time to move on.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
First of all thank you for your candid feedback. While not the experience that we regularly hear about, we appreciate that this has been yours. We have been fortunate to have you as a regular guest over the past several years and hope that you would reconsider continuing to be one. I would love to talk to you to personally about this and may be reached directly at # 626.755.2521.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel during Our stay was the room we had is like a studio type, there was a Kitchen where we was able to cooked decent meal and we didn`t had to be stressed to og out to find restaurant...room was clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback about your recent stay. I would love to talk to you personally to see how we might have done better for you. My direct line is #626.755.2521.
I was a bit concerned with the picture posted with your comments. That picture looks a bit more similar to perhaps a Residence Inn with a kitchen as opposed to our Courtyard in Old Pasadena. Again, I would be happy to talk through any issues with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.