We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Pasadena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Pasadena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for the USC vs UCLA game and decided to choose a hotel with a nice area and close to the Rose Bowl and boy we weren't wrong.
First the lobby is excellent with very nice seating and a very friendly staff, the people from the valet were also nice but they usually took about 15-20 min to bring your car so bear that in mind if you're always on a rush.
The rooms were extremely nice, welcoming and very comfortable beds!
The hotel is great, best hotel in Old Town! I'd highly recommend it for any type of traveler!

Hope this helps!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We hope you enjoyed your visit to the Pasadena area and to the football game! We are very fortunate to have the staff and location that we do, glad to hear that it worked to your advantage! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to see you next time you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    206
    63
    27
    13
See reviews for
127
109
32
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You can't get more in the middle of it all for the Rose Bowl or Rose Parade. Top of the line for a Courtyard. Parade is a block away. Rose Bowl is an easy ten minute walk, can't stay closer unless you are in a private residence. Excellent service/excellent location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Darin, We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! You are right, there is not any better place you can stay to be in the "heart" of Pasadena, whether it be time for the Rose Parade or not! We have many things in walking distance and are the only hotel in Old Town Pasadena! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others! We hope to see you soon when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a great weekend in Pasadena in January, in spite of the very cold CA weather. The hotel was very nice upon walking in as the lobby is new and bright and the bistro was full of good food, good drink and great help. The rooms were not so nice. Very long hallways and really drab rooms with very dated furniture. I assume they are updating the entire hotel, but it was surprising to feel like it was going to be good and then....it just was okay. I don't expect perfection from a Courtyard so i have to keep my opinions in line with reality, but just wishing and hoping it was a bit better.

Room Tip: no idea! ask for better view and don't be on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and your visit to Pasadena. We have recently had our lobby and bistro remodeled and our rooms are soon to come! We apologize for any in convenience that we may have caused. We hope that next time you are in the area, you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We organized a family retreat at this hotel. Facilities were great including conference rooms. The concierge help the kids get set up on PlayStation and with board games in the lobby, and the pool and hot tub for great for relaxing at the end of the day. All round a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel to host your family reunion. We were very happy to have you and your family here. Our goal is to make our guests comfortable and happy. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our pool area and the fun activities we have for kids! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The front desk staff were friendly, fast and efficient. They also accommodated my request for an upgrade. Unlike a lot of hotels, the computers in the lobby are well maintained, well supplied and fully functional. No having to run to the front desk to ask for another few sheets of paper or to request the ink cartridge be replaced. The hotel is a short walk away from Russell's---a longtime favorite among the Old Pasadena breakfast crowd. And there are plenty of other fine eateries within a couple blocks. Another plus is that daily parking in the hotel parking structure is only $6.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Mark, thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at our hotel. We do our very best to make your stay the best it can possibly be and are very fortunate to have the staff that we do to make sure that everything is well maintained! Glad to hear you were able to enjoy our convenient location and go and enjoy Russell’s. Again, we thank you for staying with us and hope we are able to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It has been 2 yrs since I stayed here and the decline in standards has been dramatic. Or maybe the general standards in Asian hotels have spoiled me and this is normal now in USA?
The whole place now has a sorry down at heel appearance.
The staff – aside from some of the check in staff seem disinterested to the point of being rude.
Check in was fairly straightforward and they got my room request correct. The public areas look very beaten up and some litter on floor in some main corridors remained for my entire stay.
The dark carpet is always covered in white threads and cottons and nobody seems to pick up.
The corridor where the conference rooms are looks like some seedy flop house with Gaffer tape stuck to and strewn all over the floor and a ladder remained unattended in the middle of the corridor for best part of a day There is rubbish on the floor and empty cartons piled up outside doors. The toilets adjacent to this area are frankly disgusting.
Rooms themselves are an adequate size but badly beaten furnishings and bed linens while clean look decidedly old.
The shower takes ages to empty even if you remove stopper. I was on the 6th floor and from 4 am every day the overpowering smell of cooking bacon was nauseating. I couldn’t make out if this was some remote hotel kitchen or some hungry guest using the microwave in a guest room .
The Bistro restaurant has gone from what was a pretty decent place for breakfast to some overpriced fast food joint. I only ate there twice and the food was grim and the whole process seemed to be a huge burden on the staff. I asked for scrambled eggs, they sighed and said “Oh we will have to get the Chef”!
They had an egg station but it was unmanned while the guests wandered around puzzled and the Chef sat around the back chatting to staff.
The gym is a joke. For a hotel of its size it is way too small.
In order to do a morning exercise I had to be in there by 0415 hrs or it was full and all 6 machines (yes 6 in total) were occupied. There was no space to do free weight work. Either expand or don’t have a gym ! Sanitary wipes were not replaced and water was not refilled.
There are far better places to stay than this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. While the majority of the comments that come back are positive, we appreciate the opportunity to challenge ourselves always to do better. Your detailed comments will certainly help us to do that. If we may be of personal assistance on your next visit please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks again and wherever your adventures may bring you, we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My greatest apprehension in planning a holiday is making the wrong choice of hotel. I booked this hotel relying mainly on the reviews (which at times are not how it seems) and its famed name... Marriott! I just figured... You can't go wrong with Marriott!! And thank goodness - It was a GREAT choice!

Arriving at the hotel, so exhausted from a long journey we were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff and check-in was quick and easy.

We stayed at this hotel for 12 nights and it felt like home. The room they gave us had the space we needed for that long-stay. It was quiet, smelled fresh & clean. Internet service worked very well. The hotel provided guests with computers with printers at the lobby which I found to be useful - got to print out my airline tickets ! I like that -- saved me the trouble ..

Front desk staff was friendly, particularly Elizabeth who always met us with her warm and friendly greeting. The Concierge and Valet Parking Manager, Danny was very kind and attentive to our needs. He even went out of his way to drive us around for a little sight-seeing and suggested us on places to visit and how to best enjoy the city.

Downtown LA was our first choice but, upon our friend's strong persuasion to stay out of the hustle and bustle and give Pasadena a try, we yielded. She was absolutely right!!! Oldtown Pasadena was an excellent choice for a restful and enjoyable holiday and Courtyard Marriott had all that to offer. It has the perfect location -- we had a pleasant stroll down the road where you find all the quaint shops and restos. We felt very safe walking around even til late at night..

St Andrew's Catholic Church, an old and beautiful church was just footsteps away. We attended the Christmas Eve services there and felt very safe walking back to the hotel even past midnight.

At the end of each long and tiring day, getting back to the hotel meant coming back to a warm and comfortable home stopping by Starbucks at the lobby for a hot drink to cap our night....

What more can you ask for!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at our hotel! We are very glad to hear that we helped make your holiday travels more enjoyable! We are proud to have the wonderful staff that we have and they do their very best to make every guests stay the best it can be! Seems like you were able to take advantage of our location and explore everything in walking distance in beautiful Old Town Pasadena! We hope to see you again very soon and we can only hope to make your stay even better then this one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.