We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay following our Granddaughter's Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One Night Stay following our Granddaughter's Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the only hotel in Old Town Pasadena. We only needed a one night stay following our granddaughte's wedding. The hotel was very accommodating, offering early check-in.
When we drove up to the entrance, we were greeted by the very friendly valet staff. Upon entering the lobby, all staff members were very warm and cordial. The lobby was immaculate. Opposite the registration area is The Bistro, which offered breakfast, lunch and dinner. We went to our room before having anything to eat.
Upon entering the room, there was soft music playin and the lights were turned on which I always appreciate since it adds to the warmth of the room. The rooms have been recently renovated, with warm colors, comfortable beds & bedding.
The bathroom was very nicely done with lots of towels available.

Room Tip: If you self park, depending where your room is located, you may have a good walk to get to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Betty B

Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments about the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. Even though your stay with us was brief you got the full Courtyard experience. Congratulations on your Granddaughters wedding and we hope you will come back to visit in the near future. Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    258
    79
    28
    15
See reviews for
160
137
39
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My first stay and impressed with the service, cleanliness, reasonable price, perfect location , amenities, free wifi and parking.I highly recommend this hotel for everyone. This place is two blocks away from Colorado Avenue where you can shop, dine and lounge out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west are sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your great comments about the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. Our location is great, but the service keeps people coming back. We very much look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Every member of the staff I encountered during my two night stay were friendly and helpful--the friendliest and helpfulest I have experienced. They made adequate accommodations an especially pleasant experience.
The location is excellent for walking around the streets of Old Pasadena (to the south), which is a nice area for shops and restaurants. The location also is convenient for highway access.
The rooms are good enough for a Courtyard, although mine on the south side exterior of the building suffered from the heat and an air conditioner that either functioned in "on" or "off" mode and was too loud to run during a phone call. My first offer on the 2d floor on the west side suffered from traffic noise because the windows are single pane. I suggest requesting a room on the north side or on the interior. Otherwise, the building was clean, the workout facilities good enough (2 steps machines, 2 treadmills, 2 bikes, free weights). More of a family or business place than a pleasure trip.
They also offer "free" breakfast (an omellette bar and egg and sausage steam trays), but the drinks (coffee and juice) were extra. Not much of a benefit. But it is a nice place even without that perq.

Room Tip: Interior and/or North side (in warm weather). 5th or 6th floor if sensitive to street noise, because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Mike,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to share your thoughts. We truly appreciate it. While our location is excellent, it pales in comparison to our staff who give it their all from the moment you arrive.
Certainly apologize for the confusion on breakfast as we do charge. Our Bistro Restaurant is designed to keep it as simple or as full as you like it. Our omelet bar is currently $10.95 and beverages are extra as we have a very large selection of coffee and specialty drinks. We also have a wide variety of a-la-carte pastries, breakfast sandwiches’ as well traditional breakfast plates. A little something for everyone.
Again, we genuinely appreciate the feedback and very much look forward to your next stay if we are so fortunate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is very nice and clean and in a great location for Old Town Pasadena. Walking distance to everything! Breakfast place right up the street with great food, in case you want to skip the hotels buffet. Loved it.

Room Tip: Parking in the garage is convenient to each floor. That helps with luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive comments. We are most appreciative. Old Pasadena has many great restaurant choices, all within easy walking distance.
Until next time. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located several blocks from the restaurants and stores of Old Pasadena is the attraction of this reasonably priced hotel. Nothing fancy but clean, comfortable, with more amenities in the room than at the nearby Westin. Nice to have a refrigerator. Love the free wifi--not fast enough for streaming but fine for email and reading New York Times. Unless you are staying further away at the likes of a Howard Johnson's or Quality Inn, all the hotels charge for parking. Bed was comfortable. Our room on 4th floor faced Fair Oaks so did get the street noise starting around 7 am. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant with so many great choices 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott, Old Pasadena. Our location and close proximity to Pasadena’s best restaurants and shopping means never having to get in your car. Amenities such as free Wi-Fi, Refrigerators and Microwaves in every room make it easy to stay connected and store and heat up those leftovers from all the great restaurants. Safe travels and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A combined work and personal trip during Breeders Cup weekend at Santa Anita. Room was fine, but time for some upgrades. Bistro leaves something to be desired and nothing at lunchtime. It appears that dinner is room service only. Luckily many restaurants are very nearby, pick up a brochure at lobby with a map of Old Pasadena. If you want a wonderful nearby museum/library/garden-arboretum, the Huntington is a must-see. I could spend hours there.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor, no noise problems. Slow elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments and concerns and we hope that you enjoyed your Breeders Cup weekend. Just wanted to clarity the hours of our Bistro for you and our other guests:
Breakfast:
- Monday through Friday – 6am-10am
- Saturday and Sunday – 7am -11am
Lunch:
- Friday – Sunday – until 1:30pm
Dinner:
- Monday – Sunday – 4pm -10pm
Room Service:
- Monday – Sunday – 5pm -10pm

We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

at 1:50 p.m. on Sunday afternoon, I went downstairs to get some lunch and coffee, but their "bistro" in the lobby was closed! They shut it down, I was told, because they were not busy. It won't open again until 5 p.m.

In other words, despite the hefty price you pay to stay here every night, the place is too cheap to keep its "bistro" open so the people staying here can get lunch on a Sunday afternoon.

Also, although they serve drinks (but not until the evening), there is no bar.

And the parking costs an arm and a leg each day.

Try the Doubletree a few miles away in Arcadia. Free parking, for one thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to post a comment and helpful tips about our hotel! We truly appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you soon! Just wanted to clarify the hours of our Bistro:

- Monday through Friday – 6am-10am
- Saturday and Sunday – 7am -11am
Lunch:
- Friday – Sunday – until 1:30pm
Dinner:
- Monday – Sunday – 4pm -10pm
Room Service:
- Monday – Sunday – 5pm -10pm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#5 of 30 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#8 of 30 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#13 of 30 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#4 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.