We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 28 hotels in Pasadena
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located several blocks from the restaurants and stores of Old Pasadena is the attraction of this reasonably priced hotel. Nothing fancy but clean, comfortable, with more amenities in the room than at the nearby Westin. Nice to have a refrigerator. Love the free wifi--not fast enough for streaming but fine for email and reading New York Times. Unless you are staying further away at the likes of a Howard Johnson's or Quality Inn, all the hotels charge for parking. Bed was comfortable. Our room on 4th floor faced Fair Oaks so did get the street noise starting around 7 am. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant with so many great choices 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott, Old Pasadena. Our location and close proximity to Pasadena’s best restaurants and shopping means never having to get in your car. Amenities such as free Wi-Fi, Refrigerators and Microwaves in every room make it easy to stay connected and store and heat up those leftovers from all the great restaurants. Safe travels and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    154
    57
    24
    10
See reviews for
98
85
28
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A combined work and personal trip during Breeders Cup weekend at Santa Anita. Room was fine, but time for some upgrades. Bistro leaves something to be desired and nothing at lunchtime. It appears that dinner is room service only. Luckily many restaurants are very nearby, pick up a brochure at lobby with a map of Old Pasadena. If you want a wonderful nearby museum/library/garden-arboretum, the Huntington is a must-see. I could spend hours there.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor, no noise problems. Slow elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments and concerns and we hope that you enjoyed your Breeders Cup weekend. Just wanted to clarity the hours of our Bistro for you and our other guests:
Breakfast:
- Monday through Friday – 6am-10am
- Saturday and Sunday – 7am -11am
Lunch:
- Friday – Sunday – until 1:30pm
Dinner:
- Monday – Sunday – 4pm -10pm
Room Service:
- Monday – Sunday – 5pm -10pm

We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

at 1:50 p.m. on Sunday afternoon, I went downstairs to get some lunch and coffee, but their "bistro" in the lobby was closed! They shut it down, I was told, because they were not busy. It won't open again until 5 p.m.

In other words, despite the hefty price you pay to stay here every night, the place is too cheap to keep its "bistro" open so the people staying here can get lunch on a Sunday afternoon.

Also, although they serve drinks (but not until the evening), there is no bar.

And the parking costs an arm and a leg each day.

Try the Doubletree a few miles away in Arcadia. Free parking, for one thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to post a comment and helpful tips about our hotel! We truly appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you soon! Just wanted to clarify the hours of our Bistro:

- Monday through Friday – 6am-10am
- Saturday and Sunday – 7am -11am
Lunch:
- Friday – Sunday – until 1:30pm
Dinner:
- Monday – Sunday – 4pm -10pm
Room Service:
- Monday – Sunday – 5pm -10pm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here in October of this year (2012) while in town visiting family. We were met by three or four hungry valets who were eager to take the car. They seemed less than thrilled we were parking our own car. We were greeted in the modern lobby by a desk clerk who was professional, yet not friendly. Our room was on the fifth floor, in the back with a great view overlooking a dumpster. There were old carpet rolls in the dumpster, so maybe they are renovating? Our walk from the garage to the room was down three long dark halls. Our room was very small. It was a King bed with a love seat and desk. The AC was outdated and loud. The bathroom wallpaper was peeling and the fixtures were cheap. Looked like a $50 motel in the bathroom. The walls were so thin, you could hear the family next door. We were treated to a family with a couple of kids who checked in about midnight on Friday night. The dad was yelling at the kids and it was stressful as you could hear everything that was said, or yelled at the kids. The internet was terrible. I had brought school work with me for an online class. I was not given instructions for connecting to the internet. Didn't think I needed it, however you had to go to a certain website and sign up for a three day trial? (I don't know? ) to get the WiFi???? The place is way over priced for what you get. I will be coming back to Pasadena, but not staying here. The only good thing I have to say about this place is, it is within walking distance to Old Town Pasadena. Make sure you wear comfortable shoes though. It is about four to six good city blocks.

Room Tip: If you are parking your own car, get a room close to the garage. Ask for a room that doesn't ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and sharing your experience with us. We look to continuously improve our service and your comments are most helpful to us. We hope your path brings you back to Pasadena and that you consider us for lodging accommodations as we remain at your service at the Courtyard by Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stay somewhere else. This is our third day here. We're on vacation. Haven't had a good night's sleep since leaving home. The walls are so thin, we were awakened this morning at 5:30 a.m. by the TV next door and hearing a man blowing his nose. The pillows are hard as rocks and 8" thick. Plan to bring your own pillow. It's California so expect low water pressure too. One more night and we'll be out of here. YEAH!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow and ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
So sorry to hear your stay was not up to par. While our daily focus is to provide an exceptional experience and product, sometimes we fall short of expectations.
Please don’t hesitate in the future to allow us the opportunity to resolve any issues immediately during your stay. Our staff is dedicated to your complete satisfaction and work hard to make sure all of our guests are happy.
Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here while visiting CalTech recently and it was adequate. I was on the 2nd floor so I took the stairs to and from my room and the stairwell had a very weird smell. There was also a sign in the stairwell that said that the hotel contained chemicals known to cause cancer in the state of CA. I asked the staff and they said that everything is known to cause cancer in CA, which is fair enough. I still thought it odd that they hid the sign in the stairwell with the weird smell. I asked for a quiet room and the hotel staff did deliver so I was thankful for that. It had absolutely no view, but I didn't spend much time looking out the window so it wasn't a big deal. Overall, I might keep looking for another hotel in Pasadena, but this one met my needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Contributor,

Thanks so much for taking the time to engage our staff with your observations. If we don’t hear about issues, they are pretty hard to fix. Very happy to learn that our staff was able to deliver for you on that quiet room.

Certainly hope you will consider coming back when travel brings you our way.

Until then – Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel property location was perfect! It was at the end of old town Pasadena where shopping, restaurants, movie theater could be found. Quick and easy from the BURBANK airport.
The room was clean - although the bathroom looked updated but the fixtures were old.
TV didnt work but we didnt bother the housekeeping folks. Starbucks in room cofffee drip! Just perfect instead of those no name brands.
The property had a full breakfast restaurant. It also had a gym, and a pool and hot tub that we all benefited! Small pool but enough for a good workout ! The pool was also outfitted for any handicapped person to use !
But beware of hidden charges - PARKING is a killer ! We didnt realize that we were getting charged until after we came home! Valet never said anything about parking rates!

Room Tip: Higher floors to be away from noise level. Small property so it does get booked and busy! Valet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to serving you again on your next stay in Pasadena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott
Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#5 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.