We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I were sleeping instead of writing this review at 6:00 a.m.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 28 hotels in Pasadena
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wish I were sleeping instead of writing this review at 6:00 a.m.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stay somewhere else. This is our third day here. We're on vacation. Haven't had a good night's sleep since leaving home. The walls are so thin, we were awakened this morning at 5:30 a.m. by the TV next door and hearing a man blowing his nose. The pillows are hard as rocks and 8" thick. Plan to bring your own pillow. It's California so expect low water pressure too. One more night and we'll be out of here. YEAH!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow and ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
So sorry to hear your stay was not up to par. While our daily focus is to provide an exceptional experience and product, sometimes we fall short of expectations.
Please don’t hesitate in the future to allow us the opportunity to resolve any issues immediately during your stay. Our staff is dedicated to your complete satisfaction and work hard to make sure all of our guests are happy.
Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    176
    58
    26
    12
See reviews for
111
93
30
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here while visiting CalTech recently and it was adequate. I was on the 2nd floor so I took the stairs to and from my room and the stairwell had a very weird smell. There was also a sign in the stairwell that said that the hotel contained chemicals known to cause cancer in the state of CA. I asked the staff and they said that everything is known to cause cancer in CA, which is fair enough. I still thought it odd that they hid the sign in the stairwell with the weird smell. I asked for a quiet room and the hotel staff did deliver so I was thankful for that. It had absolutely no view, but I didn't spend much time looking out the window so it wasn't a big deal. Overall, I might keep looking for another hotel in Pasadena, but this one met my needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Contributor,

Thanks so much for taking the time to engage our staff with your observations. If we don’t hear about issues, they are pretty hard to fix. Very happy to learn that our staff was able to deliver for you on that quiet room.

Certainly hope you will consider coming back when travel brings you our way.

Until then – Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel property location was perfect! It was at the end of old town Pasadena where shopping, restaurants, movie theater could be found. Quick and easy from the BURBANK airport.
The room was clean - although the bathroom looked updated but the fixtures were old.
TV didnt work but we didnt bother the housekeeping folks. Starbucks in room cofffee drip! Just perfect instead of those no name brands.
The property had a full breakfast restaurant. It also had a gym, and a pool and hot tub that we all benefited! Small pool but enough for a good workout ! The pool was also outfitted for any handicapped person to use !
But beware of hidden charges - PARKING is a killer ! We didnt realize that we were getting charged until after we came home! Valet never said anything about parking rates!

Room Tip: Higher floors to be away from noise level. Small property so it does get booked and busy! Valet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to serving you again on your next stay in Pasadena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When I come to Pasadena, this is where I stay. The rates are great, the service is wonderful and I feel like a VIP. The pool is large and is surrounded by lush trees, you can hear church bells going off on Sundays, and Old Town is at your fingertips for whatever you want. If you don't want to go anywhere, this Courtyard offers room service, now come on. It's a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Wow, this is the type of feedback we love to hear! We so excited that you had a more than pleasurable time and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Pasadena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I think this hotel has so much business it doesn't care about the guests. Hotel rooms are in need of renovation. And do not try to self park. Spaces are so small I could not get out of my car.
You have to pay for everything. No breakfast is included.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask where the room is. Coming in from the parking garage can be a long walk. Only adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay at our property. We take pride in ensuring that all of our guests are taken care of while in our hotel. We appreciate your suggestions and will take them into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I just spend the weekend at the Courtyard Marriott in Pasadena. Our room was very clean and large. The staff treated us as if we were long lost relatives. Great experience. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: In the morning I would recommend the omelets. The chef makes us one of the best omelets I have had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We are thrilled that both you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our property! Thank you for taking the time to say such nice things about our staff. P.s. we love the omelets too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The reviews on Trip Advisor for this hotel were awesome. Everyone was right. It is an upscale Courtyard. There is a bar downstairs and lots of places to hang out with your friends or group. The price was very reasonable, especially since we paid up front and saved 20% and the best part is the location. You are walking distance to Old Pasadena. Lots of shopping, bars, restaurants and lots of ice cream places!! Definitely alot happening. We enjoyed walking around alot. What i loved especially about the room was that the a/c stayed constant throughout the night. Sounds silly but i hate waking up and being hot because the a/c shuts off in the middle of the night. I had a great night sleep. It was 8:30 and I had no idea! I would most definitely go back there if i get back to Pasadena.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
That's excellent! We're are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here in our hotel and had opportunity to experience Old Town Pasadena to the fullest! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#4 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.