We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here last night and was a bit disappointed in the room. While it was clean and comfortable, it was small, a bit outdated and just not what I'm accustom to at Marriot properties, being a member of their Elite Membership program. The staff was very nice and helpful and when I inquired about a different room the gentleman at the front desk honestly told me that every room was like that. The pool was small but clean, the lobby is very nice as well. I would have stayed at a different hotel had I done more research, especially at the price I paid.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Sue D,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in Pasadena and appreciate your review. We're looking forward to serving you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    206
    63
    27
    13
See reviews for
127
109
32
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Booked a Junior Suite here, specifically because I was told that we would have a balcony. Was told by reservationist that only King bed rooms and Junior Suites have balconies. When I arrived at check in, was told that there was NO balcony with Junior Suite. They offerred to move us to a room with a King and Sofa Bed, but it would cost the same. After some minor complaining on my part, he agreed to take $30 off the price of the room.

Other than that, it was a nice enough place, typical of Marriott Courtyard's. Nice lobby and easy check in. Parking is valet ONLY. In the morning, we had the omelette bar which was a very expensive omelette at $15, but quite tasty. The staff were extremely flustered and confused, and it took a long time to order, despite there were only 2 people in front of us in line.

The location is great, as you can walk down to the main drag with restaurants, shops, bars, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Ricechex01,

Thank you for your kind words. We're glad that our front desk associates were able to accommodate and move you to a more desirable room type. As always we value our guests and hope to see you here in Pasadena soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

The Courtyard is an old hotel and could use some minor updating to the bathrooms, however it was clean and comfortable.

The evening staff at the Bistro is excellent friendly and fast. The morning staff at the Bistro could take lessons. They were not up to par with the evening staff and were not as busy.

All said it was an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Flfoodiegirl:

Thank you for your review and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to ensure the utmost quality and consistency. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of April as we were attending a wedding in Pasadena and it ticked every box for us. We had a large room looking over the pool area (so it was very quiet at night) with a desk, fridge, microwave, TV and sofa. The enormous king sized bed was one of the most comfortable of our entire trip to California! The bathroom was a good size with a decent shower with the sink and vanity unit located just outside the bathroom (good for brushing your teeth and putting make up on while someone else is in the shower!) The hotel is in a good location about 2 blocks from the main street in Pasadena so you can easily walk out for shopping, dinner and drinks. The hotel offer valet parking, or you can park yourself in the private multi-story car park which is located behind the hotel (we could actually see our car from our bedroom window). You can access the car park from each bedroom floor without having to walk through the lobby. As other people have mentioned there is a Starbucks downstairs and also a shop where you can buy cold beers, sweets and crisps. We didn’t eat breakfast at the hotel during our stay but it looked fine. The pool area is nice, good sized pool, sun loungers and hot tub and it opened early and closed late (can’t remember exact times). They even have a laundry room where you can do a quick wash and tumble dry should you need to. There is also free WiFi in the rooms and 3 computers in the lobby with printing facilities as well as 2 stations for printing off boarding passes. All the staff were friendly and professional, the hotel was very clean, if I was coming to Pasadena again I would definitely be happy to stay here again (especially if the NYPD American Football team are there again at the same time )

Room Tip: I imagine rooms overlooking the pool are quieter than street facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your Pasadena experience.
PS: We will do our best to get the NYPD Football team back for your entertainment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotels in Pasadena are few and far between, and the Marriott served us very well. Great location. The rooms are standard hotel rooms, beds are comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. We visited mid week and there was a bustling business clientele.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your positive experience with our great location, comfortable beds and great staff. We realize you have many choices and are most thankful for choosing us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

I'm here on business, so when I got into the room and set up everything on the desk, I was warm, so I looked to my right and there was one of those old kind of air conditioning/heating units. I turned it on and had cold air blowing on me while I was working. I finally turned off the air conditioner. What a weird placement for the desk. I think they could have thought about that better.

The light over the sink was burned out (really?) so I called the front desk. Someone came and replaced the bulbs within the hour.

Checkin was a breeze. Very nice, service oriented man. Had dinner at the restaurant which was passable for a Courtyard. Again, wait staff was very service oriented.

I will be back on business next week and will find out if they have rooms where the desk isn't up against the vent of the air conditioner.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Pasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
K8Mac1,

Thank you very much for your review and appreciate the acknowledgement of the problem with the light bulb. We're glad to see that our front desk and restaurant staff were able to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Always a good stay at this hotel. Friendly, helpful staff and nice amenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardpasadena, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Phyllis, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you found our staff both helpful and friendly. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena

Address: 180 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91103
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.