We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take the kids.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Grande Orange Cafe

La Grande Orange Cafe
260 South Raymond Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91105
626-356-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 520 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Del Mar
Transit: Located along the light rail at the Del Mar Station.
los angeles
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place has good veggie burgers and great salads. Plus they have free cookies and a lovely $3 kids meal. So it's really easy to convince the kids to go. I usually make them go with me to the Stone tasting room after and I get a couple 4oz beer tasters.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    63
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very noisy atmosphere!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We are a group of 8 who meet for dinner every couple of months, usually in Pasadena. Because this cafe received fairly good reviews, we decided to try it. But it is very very noisy, and definitely not conducive to having any sort of conversation. On the positive side - the deviled eggs are great! On the minus side - I ordered the steak taco platter, but got the steak dinner, which was considerably higher in price, but my fault for not saying anything! On the plus side, one of our party had the pot roast and she said it was delicious. On the minus side - my husband's rotisserie chicken was sitting in a pool of beans, which were good, but made part of the chicken soggy and it should have been crisp! One of our party was celebrating her birthday and we informed the server. She did whisper to us that there would be a charge for the birthday dessert, and asked us which one we wanted. Now put in this position, we couldn't say no, and one couple said okay to the cost. However, in all the years we have been dining out, celebrating various events, we have never been asked to pay for a measly symbolic gesture and believe me it is the principal, not the amount of money they charged for the piece of lime pie with a small doll up of ice cream! The Manager told us that that was the policy of the restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Casual California Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A very pleasant casual restaurant (burger, salads, and more) with lots of creative modern California cuisine touches plus excellent wines. Very pleasant service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Deviled Eggs to Die For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We started with their deviled eggs ($7.00 for 6 halves or 3 whole eggs), a bit sweet but creamy and nice with the Clos La Chance wine ($14.00 for 10 oz).

Moved on to the vegetarian tacos, enough for two, so glad our waitress, Heather, suggested sharing. The veggies were lightly cooked, the tortillas; corn, hot, fresh, bite-size and coming!
The veggie mix; asparagus, squash, zucchini, green beans, carrots, onions, with guacamole and pico de gallo, and salsa. On the side beans or kale salad - choose the kale salad! Finely chopped with red grapes, and Parmesan (not sure what else but delicious).

Music is contemporary, not too loud, a bit on the cool side, bring a sweater (if you sit near the kitchen a cool breeze seems to blow over your shoulders).

ENJOY!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've eaten here numerous times for lunch and dinner. Food and service is always excellent. My favorite dish is the tri-tip french dip.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grande Orange Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Grande Orange Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grande Orange Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.