We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old on the outside, good on the inside.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Saga Motor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Saga Motor Hotel
1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 hotels in Pasadena
Philadelphia, PA USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Old on the outside, good on the inside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The outside of the place - and the interior hallways - look as if nothing has been done to the place in 30 years or more. (Also, you use an old-fashioned key to get in.) My room was nice, though. The bed was big and comfortable, the mini-fridge was a nice size, the wi-fi worked (though I think my room was closed to a hot spot) and I had good water pressure in the shower. Most of the expected amenities at this class were present. A few oddities: the outlet in the bath is opposite from the mirror, which can be clumsy for shaving; the windows have slat blinds instead of shades; and the only ice machine is across from the front desk. One potential bummer: the heater can set off the smoke alarm. And the continental breakfast really isn't much to speak of. Overall, though, decent value.

Room Tip: Try to get on an upper floor, towards the back (and near a hot spot!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
47
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked a room here for my parents while they were in town for a week, and spent quite a bit of time here myself. I came by before they arrived and asked about checkin/checkout times, as well as being able to drop some things off for them before checkin. The front staff was polite and courteous, and very helpful. The room was immaculate and comfortable - 4 of us hung out to watch sports a few nights on the HDTV and it was great. There was a fridge in the room, which was good for leftovers and water (SoCal is a desert after all). The pool area was clean and comfortable, and we hung out there as well. It is on Colorado Ave, so it can get busy (our room was facing Colorado), but overall at night it was pretty quiet. Saga is convenient to several eateries and bus stops as well. Mainly I chose Saga because the internet rate was the best one at the time (80/night) and it is 2 blocks from my apartment, so it was easy for my parents to get back and forth. Overall I would recommend Saga for any length of stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We needed to stay in Los Angeles for a few days before our flight home but didn't want to stay in the main tourist areas. We picked Pasadena and were sorry that we hadn't allowed more time to see the town.
The Saga Motel is conveniently located on East Colorado Boulevard, just opposite the City College. They do a fairly simple continental breakfast (cereals, muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, tea/coffee), the rooms were clean, nice and large and we could receive free wifi in our room. They have a nice pool if you want to cool down. There are a few nearby places within walking distance to eat and drink (including the excellent Lucky Baldwins Trappiste). We weren't driving but the motel is only about a 15 minute walk from Allen Station on the Gold Line, with fast and frequent trains into Pasadena and Los Angeles.
It's not far by train, bus or car into Pasadena Old Town which is well worth exploring. If we ever have to stay in Los Angeles again, we'll happily stay at the Saga again - and allow more time to explore Pasadena, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Don't expect luxury here. But you can expect good value for money, spotlessly clean rooms, a decent little complimentary breakfast in reception, plenty of parking space and a helpful and friendly front desk. The hotel is easy to find on Colorado Blvd opposite Pasadena City College. A block and a half and five minutes' walk away is an excellent British-style pub called Lucky Baldwin's which specialises in high quality American and European tap beers, serves decent food and is staffed by pleasant people. We found the hotel was ideal as a jumping off point for Universal City, which we got to in about 45 minutes through the LA rush hour by taking a route tip from reception, and got back from in about 30 minutes pretty much as the crow flies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angelse, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hello. Two grandparents, two parents and one baby (one year old). I'm giving this place a thumbs up. Rooms were big. Has stairs and elevators. Plenty of parking for your car. Pretty easy access to the freeways. Breakfast is cereal, pastries, unlimited coffee and juice and happy service. Pools looks great. Many, many food options and a short drive to old town. Do-it-yourself laundry. And...a 99 Cent store a block away! How fun is that?! Coffee shops, Target, antique shopping, 20 minute drive (with no traffic) to Downtown LA, etc... As for Disney or Universal...sure...depending on when you drive...not a problem. Thanks to Lori and her team. Very accomdating, helpful and insightful. We would stay again and would advise others to do the same. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent a night in this historic motel after visiting WB studios. It is a famous route 66 motel. Free wi-fii and breakfast. 24 hour free hot water and tea in the reception area. Rooms were not ultra new of course but spacious and clean. No complaints about noise levels. Close to CalTech, we actually walked there ( takes about 20 minutes). Very good restaurants, coffee shops and chain fast food restaurants within walking distance. There is also a pool, we did not use it though we had breakfast in the pool area which was very nice. Free parking. 5 minutes to downtown Pasadena by car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were very comfortable . The pool looked so inviting but we were always getting back late . It would have been great to spend a relaxing afternoon beside the pool . Other guests all seemed to be very friendly as if we were all transported back to the heyday of route 66 . Our room still looked as I imagine it did decades ago , but it was clean and well maintained . They even had a slip of paper to write anything you wanted to bring to their attention . The maids were great and did a wonderful job . Front desk people were also very helpful .
I loved that there were people walking out on the streets until at least 11 . It made me feel safer . There are quite a few fast food joints close by and the 210 freeway was minutes away . Downtown LA and Hollywood are less than half an hour drive . This area felt as though it was a small town with everything you need within reach .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor
Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#9 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saga Motor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.