We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable clean 1950's style typical of old Route 66 We will come again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Saga Motor Hotel to your Saves list
Saga Motor Hotel
1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean 1950's style typical of old Route 66 We will come again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

You have to view this part motel part hotel style establishment in the context of its building era. It is dated how could it be anything other? It is very clean, the beds are very comfortable, but cosy for 4!! In the 2 double room we were only 2 so it was fine. Hurrah the windows open and have fly screens, yes the air con is a bit noisy but it works. The rooms by today's standards are a little small, Flat screen TV. Large fridge and a microwave
No tea or coffee in the room, who cares you can get that in the lobby and half a city block away is Starbucks. And a new Bakery. Buses to Old Town and wherever else pass the door Not as expensive as other hotels which by the way have pretty poor Reviews in comparison. If you can remember the 50's it is great old movie style California style motel, it has been in several movies and on CSI
The staff are great. And work hard on the presentation of the rooms. We would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    91
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
36
64
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I chosed this hotel due to the proximity to Caltech and also by recommendation. It is an old but great hotel with cosy atmosphere and friendly staff. I stayed there almost a week without any problems but the only disadvantage is the breakfast that has very very limited choices. After the first few days, the breakfast became extremely boring. However, you can still find other shops nearby, anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I needed to travel to LA at the last minute for a funeral at Mt Sinai in Hollywood Hills. Being on a budget, this was the best value I found in the general area and with a very healthy rating among other hotels in Pasadena.

I was very pleasantly surprised when I pulled in. I did enjoy the retro feel and also the non-generic motel feel, too. The front desk (Lori and Roger) were very friendly when checking in, helpful when I asked traffic info on traveling to the service, and the next morning more than happy to make me a fresh cup of coffee at 12 p.m. after I woke up.

I was in Room 316 on the third floor. I requested a room away from the street and on the top floor, and was granted both. Just a double bed in the room, but it was just me and they were extra long, so even at 6-4, I fit. Bed was firm, yet comfortable.

It was a smaller room than I would usually expect in a cookie-cutter motel, but it was comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower, clean bed linens, flat screen TV, and a large fridge. I missed having a personal coffee maker in the room. I would highly recommend the owners add this inexpensive feature that most any traveler expects.

Excellent location! Very easy to find off the freeway. 20 minutes to Forest Lawn Hollywood Hills and Mt. Sinai, Pasadena City College across the street, any number of fast food and other restaurants within easy walking distance, and Starbucks and Wells Fargo next door. Plenty of free parking, too.

To back up other reviewers, yes the elevator is old, but I took the stairs every time after I brought up the suitcase. I would highly recommend staying on the third floor, because the floors are creaky in select spots. Stingy on pillows (only two). I went downstairs for two more.

My biggest complaint? For some unknown reason, the maintenance staff thought it would be perfectly fine to begin pounding on the hallway floor outside my room at 8:30 a.m. after a very long and emotional day the day before. This work could have easily been done later in the day, and I was a little irritated when I saw aforementioned maintenance people standing by their truck when I checked out at noon. Their day was over, and mine started horribly.

But that was a one-time thing. I would highly recommend the Saga for those on a budget, needing a clean place to crash, convenient to freeway and eateries, and wanting to experience the feel of Pasadena when Colorado Blvd was Route 66.

Room Tip: Request third floor room to avoid hearing floor squeaks. If you face the back, it is the quietest (o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This motel is not retro, it's old and tired. The hallways are dark with stained carpet and peeling wallpaper. I saw stuff lying around - a towel tossed behind the 3rd floor hallway trash can and trash under the stairway for two days. The elevator clunks and needs a facelift desparately. The internet is ok when it works, but then it goes completely down for awhile.

Light bulbs in the rooms are too dim to read. The shower head had half of the spray holes plugged, so no quick 5 minute showers - takes that long just to get your hair wet enough to shampoo. And, that deluxe breakfast, served in the small lobby; tiny grocery store bagels served in the plastic bag they came in, dry cereal, tiny unappealing danish, orange juice, tea & coffee - not deluxe anywhere, especially not Pasadena.

Close to Pasadena City College & Cal Tech. Starbucks & a few fast food places practically next door. Room windows open, refrigerator, iron, hair dryer & ok television (HBO doesn't work tho), and quiet.

Knowing what I know now, I would pass on this motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during CalTech commencement and had a great time. Nice pool, terrace with tables to eat outside, quiet clean rooms, trees and plants surround.
Rooms face the pool and still feel private

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just after this recent Thanksgiving, I flew to the LA area to buy a car and I stayed at the Saga Motor Hotel. It's been described as something like a delightful '50's retro motel. It's more than that. The grounds are beautiful. The cars are not parked in front of the doors. Everything in the rooms is in the right place - even the towel rack in the bathroom can be reached from inside the shower, a small design feature that's great but overlooked in most motels. The staff is friendly and helpful. There's no TV blaring in the lobby during the nice continental breakfast. A reading room is chock full of books that one can borrow and leave in the room. The location is pleasant, in very walkable Pasadena; there's a good Thai cafe within about 100 meters. Even while being located on busy (and convenient) Colorado Blvd., it's remarkably quiet. Finally, the price is right. This is the most pleasant motel I've been in in many years.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor, close to the lobby. This was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great mid-century place, but updated. Bed was good, love that the windows opened, great pool area. Big fridge & enough space for two for 3 nights. A/C was a bit noisy, but we just used it to cool off the room after being gone all day. Unseasonable warm Thanksgiving. Starbucks 1/2 short block away. Free breakfast was as much as you could expect for free. Elevator was creaky & slow, but better than lugging suitcases up & down stairs.We want to try a poolside room next time. Single level & doors on both sides for cross ventilation. Definitely will stay here again. We paid a bit more by booking w/ the front desk, but I am always wary of Internet rates & non-refundable bookings...

Room Tip: Top floor was a good choice. Love that the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saga Motor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.