We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic staynon old Route 66 in Pasadena!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Saga Motor Hotel to your Saves list
Saga Motor Hotel
1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Classic staynon old Route 66 in Pasadena!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

firend recommended the Saga Motor Hotel becuase he knew how much we like vintage and hisotric hotels. The Saga did not disappoint! They even had real glasses in the rooms - "old school!!!"

It is suprising well maintained, well apointed and true to its style and time period while providing modern ameneties like Wi-Fi and free continential breakfast. Our room hands windows that opened which I always like!

The pool is swell and you are located right on Colorado Blvd across from Pasadena City College.

A comfortable place, a great base for exploring the cool stuff in Pasadena and very reasonable rates!

Room Tip: We had room #315 which over looked the pool - it was comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    87
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
33
62
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are locations where this Motor Hotel would seem overpriced but Pasadena isn't one of them. It's a 1950's place, which is a bonus for me, that is well maintained and in a great location right on Historic Route 66. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff quite friendly and helpful. Check their website for specials. I did and saved a few bucks by booking online.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed 2 nights- room was quiet and clean. Across the street from Pasadena City College. Continental breakfast was nothing fancy, but fine. Free parking. Nice pool area. 2 nights for the price of one compared to other hotels in Pasadena. Will stay there again when in town. Looks like the Rose parade passes by this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Based on the reviews on this site and several others I paid for 4 nights at this hotel 2 weeks ago. Everything was exactly as described in the other interviews and I was very satisfied with my stay ... UNTIL ...

Until one week after my return when I developed a case of scabies (this week) on my arms and legs! I noticed that the room had a chemical smell after hotel staff cleaned the room and I mentioned this to staff - now I wonder if the smell was insecticide ?

Definitely NOT recommended - at least until the hotel management reads this and alters their cleaning process for sheets and towels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed there in mid August for one night. The room was small but well decorated. It really feel like home. Very cozy, clean and at a great location. Their swimming pool looks really nice but we didni't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago. Nice hotel for the price, good location. Walking distance to places to eat, and Starbucks. Staff was friendly and helpful. We went to the Norton Simon Museum, it is only 3 miles from hotel. We expect to go back soon, taking my sister and brother in law. There was an Asian Street Festival, so we took a cab, walked around, was a gorgeous night. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel/motel has a lot of charm and is ideally located if you have a car and intend to visit not only Pasadena but also Los Angeles: it is a twenty-minute ride to Universal studios or Griffith Park, and a thirty-minute ride to Hollywood (depending on traffic!) The pool area surrounded with palm trees is very pleasant. There is free wifi, free laundry machines and complimentary breakfast. The rooms have a charming 1950s' atmosphere. We would definitely warmly recommend this place to anyone visiting Los Angeles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#6 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saga Motor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.