We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise, would go back if in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Saga Motor Hotel to your Saves list
Saga Motor Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Bergen, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise, would go back if in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked this hotel through hotwire, and did not know what we were getting. Even after we found out the name and read the reviews were were not sure what were getting into. This boutique hotel definitely surprised us as it turned out much better than we expected. The check in process was smooth and the attendant very helpful. The room was clean, big and the bed very comfortable. There was free laundry which we took advantage off, and free wifi. The breakfast was simple and worked out well for us. Cereal, danish, muffins, toast, coffee, juice. The best part of the hotel was it's beautiful pool which was a great size. The weather was really good when we were there, so I was able to take full advantage of the pool. Also the hotel grounds had the most lovely garden and flowers, and was very well maintained and pretty. Check out was at 12pm, later than most hotels, which meant we were able to comfortably use the pool, shower and leave. We almost wanted to stay another day in Pasadena because of how comfortable we were at the hotel. The location was very good, right across the library, with many restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Pasadena.

Room Tip: Many of the ground floor rooms have their door opening up at the pool side, so if you like that, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    95
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
66
30
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wildomar, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked our room through Hotwire for $66 (includes taxes and fees). The Saga Motor Hotel is a small, older hotel. It's located on Colorado Blvd. (the historic Route 66) where the Rose Parade passes through...a small historic tidbit that I found super cool! This establishment is located in a safe neighborhood with nearby restaurants and stores. It's minutes from the heart of Pasadena and 30 minutes away from Hollywood and Glendale.

Don't be fooled by the outdated exterior, the comfort and cleanliness of the room definitely made up for it. The room was simple but had everything we needed for a satisfying stay (large room size, clean bathroom and room, comfortable bed, free continental breakfast [they served the basics but my boyfriend and I were left satisfied], A/C, and mini refrigerator).

All in all, my boyfriend and I agreed that we'd return to Saga Motor Hotel the next time we go on an LA vacation!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I like the fact that it's not a chain and the friendly atmosphere is there for sure. The room we had (202) was big and quiet, there was a fridge and I liked there was no curtain but wooden blinds. There's a pool and free breakfast. We had 2 women at the reception and they were really nice. So why 3/5? Because the rate was $89 with AAA discount and it really felt like the motel could use some renovation or a lower rate. The bathroom especially wasn't that pleasant. It was clean enough, just old and super tight in comparison to the size of the room itself. Towels were made of cheap quality and didn't dry off. Pool area looks nice at first but then, you realize that there's artificial grass everywhere. I don't think it's hygienic around a pool and also, it doesn't dry fast . We didn't get breakfast there since the area is pretty small and was busy but also, we're tired of that kind of breakfast.
So it's not a bad place to stay, it's just that for the same price range, we could have had better for the things I'm "complaining" about. Comfort inn was at the exact same price but hubby said that some of his colleagues at Caltech had been at the Saga Motor and liked it and we wanted to give our money to an smaller hotel than a chain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

An older hotel on the outskirts of Pasadena and certainly not fancy, but that said, it represents fantastic value for money. Staff are welcoming and helpful. The room was large and well kept, with old fashioned furniture and decor - it had aircon, TV, free wifi and a large fridge, but no tea/coffee making facilities. On our last night our room was not cleaned when we got back at 4.30pm - the maid did knock and offer to clean then but as we were tired, we decided to pass. However, she was very apologetic and it wasn't a big deal to us. There is a very pleasant pool and a free laundry for guests, which for us, on a long trip, was a real bonus. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Better than your average motel. The pool courtyard was nice with lovely trees perfect for an alfresco breakfast or snack. Room was average but clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel is a little older, but nothing wrong with it at all. Free parking, pool, free laundry, and free wifi. Near a bunch of places to eat, however didn't find many good bars around. Room was avg size and the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed in this motel for one night and found it quite satisfactory. The check-in process was quick, and the office attendant was friendly. The room was clean, and the decor in the room was actually quite charming. There was even a small library of books alongside the television. Some of the fixtures looked ancient, like the bathroom vent and some of the power outlets, but the room seemed to have undergone relatively recent renovation, judging by the condition of the wallpaper and furniture. The Internet was quite good for a hotel. Free Wi-Fi and in-room Ethernet ports were both available. The wireless network worked fine for me, so I didn't even bother with Ethernet.

Criticisms: The view out the window was lousy. The breakfast selection was quite limited: some pastries, tiny boxes of cereal, English muffins, tea, coffee, and tiny cartons of orange juice. It was perfectly adequate for one day, but it would have gotten boring if my stay had been much longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saga Motor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saga Motor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.