We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umm, umm good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
641 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91101
+1 626-356-4066
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 519 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: North El Molino Avenue
Transit: Located in front of our restaurant on Colorado Blvd.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Umm, umm good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had looked this restaurant up before our trip and was a little concerned be cause it was part of a chain. When I showed my notes to the bell staff at our hotel, his face lit up & he encouraged us to eat there. We were in Pasadena during the holidays & there were several very large groups at the restaurant, but the service was good anyway. In particular Jose of the bus staff took very good care of all the patrons. We ate off the appetizer menu and the food was amazing - not a clinker in the bunch. In fact we went back a couple of nights later. The owner was on the premises both nights - he lives nearby - which may account for the perfection that came out of the kitchen.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    39
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Very good menu & pleasant ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We dined with another couple a couple of days before New Year's Day, and were pleased that the menu offered many choices, and that the food was well-prepared and tasty. The only downside was our waiter, who had to be reminded several times to bring water, forks etc., and who was overly apologetic. It was not a major problem, but an annoyance to have to remind a server so many times about the same request.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Yet another Roy's location lives up to high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Colorado Blvd location provides the opportunity to revisit beloved Roy's classics and discover new favorites. The Hawaiian Martini is as delicious as always. The seasonal specials were flavorful and brilliantly presented with a nod to the scallops. The chocolate soufflé never fails to impress and the service was spot on. Even in the midst of Rose Parade fervor, the pace of service and quality of the dishes was outstanding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything is perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went to Roy's in the fall after receiving a coupon in the mail. I was never impressed with the Roy's in Woodland Hills, but we loved everything about or first experience at the Pasadena location.

We decided to book Christmas Eve dinner with our family of 5 - all adults. The children were also impressed and our waiter was outstanding. The food was perfectly cooked and delicious. The Hawaiian theme is not over the top. The food is sophisticated, only subtly Hawaiian - no pineapple wedges on every plate ;-). We all had something different. For our family, Roy's is a splurge, but we thought it was well worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant but not worthy of its ranking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I frequently visit Pasadena and Roy's has wonderful ambiance and service. However my entrée, the Macadamia Nut Mahi Mahi fell short of expectations.

It was a fine selection of fish but it's preparation and presentation was sterile and lacked the spark of flavor I was hoping for.

Roy's deserves a second chance but I am not convinced of its Travelocity ranking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.