We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful respite from LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Botanic Garden

South Coast Botanic Garden
26300 Crenshaw Blvd., Palos Verdes Estates, CA 90274
(310) 544-1948
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Northern California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful respite from LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Every part of the LA Arboretum system is excellent. We (SF Bay Area folks who go to LA yearly) have been to all of the other parts of the system but had never made it to Palos Verdes before. It may seem a bit far considering LA traffic for many folks including natives.
This is definitely a worthwhile spot. Remarkably quiet and I suspect underused. Huge swaths of gorgeous trees and plants. Some areas better cared for than others but in this period of serious budget issues for everyone, I would judge that the South Coast Botanic Garden is in better shape than many arboreta around the country (we belong to many and visit many more).
We were not able to get around the whole garden and so missed quite a few specific collections.
Plant labelling is just about non-existent and that's the only deficiency that I would note.
Plenty of free parking. There is an admission charge.
[Tho I respond to the length of visit question w/2-3 hours, in fact any length of visit is worthwhile.]

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens, peaceful retreat for a day...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The South Coast Botanic Garden is a wonderful day trip, my husband and I are ready to go back again because we only got part way around in half a day. The rose garden is our very favorite, the children's gardens would be great for families with children and the have special events!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Not far of Pacific Coast Highway lies an impressive array of wonderfully landscaped scenery. Built on a dump site that today is the foundation of many trails. Every plant is marked with info as to type and origin. Spend an hour or a few it's a treat.
The entire area covers over 80 acres - a real treat to get away from it all.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Serene and beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful gardens, very well maintained. Great place to take photos and meander. Not really a mids attraction. We were there in mid- May and it was hot. I would recommend going maybe October to April.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Really lovely park, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

They have an extensive Children's garden and many family-related activities, in addition to really large areas of gorgeous plantings. (The rose garden, for instance, was in full bloom and very impressive.) They have a good website - check it out before you go to make the most of a visit. Plenty of easy parking the day we went - even though it was also the day of a special event (see below). The gift shop is small, but quite nice - with unusual, quality items. The park itself is quite large. They runs a few tours, check their website. The tram runs very infrequently and you should double-check the website ON THE DAY you are going, to avoid disappointment. (Evidently the tram is run by the locals, the park is run by a foundation - which has no jurisdiction over the tram operation?) We are going back soon and will be taking our visitors whenever possible. Annual Plant Sale (April): We just moved to the area and our first visit coincided with this event. It was well-attended, but not crowded (at l east around 10:30 am, although the checkout line seemed a bit long.) It was a large, but very friendly sale - the people who actually grew the plants were at each booth, to give you all kinds of info/help. The prices seemed very good and I assume the Garden got some portion of the proceeds? I also appreciated that they emphasized good looking drought-tolerant natives and especially those that attract wildlife.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Coast Botanic Garden also viewed

 
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
 

Been to South Coast Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.