We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills, Just Good, Inexpensive Authentic Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria El Grullense J & G

Taqueria El Grullense J & G
3636 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
(650) 251-9317
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 318 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“No Frills, Just Good, Inexpensive Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I took my kids (ages 11, 9 and 5) there. We got 3 tacos ($1.35 each), 1 wet green burrito ($7.75) and two vegetarian burritos ($5.75 each). Way too much food. My burrito was quite filling. I usually eat my food and help with the kids. Not thus time. Nine year old finished his tacos, but the 11 and 5 year olds could have shared a burrito especially since they are huge and we ate lots of free chips with a free toppings bar (two salsa types, pico de gallo, peppers and onions, etc. The service is order and pick up at the appropriate counter window. They saw me with my three kids and brought my two trays to our table. Nice service for a place that is really all about good, inexpensive food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food and so so affordable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My favourite Mexican restaurant outside of Mexico. The interior is cheap and nasty but the food is superb and a bargain. A must visit 9/10

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great casual restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Great food with a "locals" flair. While you order and sit at long tables with an open kitchen, the resulting food will please. Will certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Authentic Mexican, "hole-in-the wall" kind of comfort food. The outside is a pink adobe style building with large black letters, inside has a huge picture menu, a cooler with cokes & Jarritos in ice. I LOVE the overall ambiance! It's all about the food! Which is what it should be :) Perfect place to come after work to relax & eat a great meal. Portions are large & prices are fair. Also there free tortilla chips & a salsa bar. I would definitely recommend! :D

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good as it gets in Northern California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Listen, this is just a little cafeteria/cantina on El Camino Real. For what it is, it's terrific. The tacos are good, service fast and helpful; I love this sort of place. Overall, you can do better at the right taco truck in Southern California, but given where it is, it's as good as it gets.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria El Grullense J & G also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria El Grullense J & G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria El Grullense J & G, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.