We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hamburger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Counter

The Counter
369 California Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94306
6503213900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 273 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Hamburgers
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stopped by The Counter and we're glad we did. The hamburger's my family and I had were delicious. It's crowded even on a Sunday night but the food is great. We also had fries and the shoestring onion rings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stopped in on a tip from trip advisor. We were in the area at lunch and a burger sounded good. Well it definitely was all that we hoped for. The burger had that little pink in the middle with a large variety of toppings to choose from, delicious. Oh
And don't miss the Parm Fries, so good, well worth the calories. The negatives were it's very noisy and a little pricey, but it's Palo Alto. We will return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Burgers with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Make it yourself. Add your own toppings. The antithesis of Father's Office, this is a burger joint that caters to the cravings of its customers. Both points of view are valid. The Counter is a place one can go crazy with creativity. Make it your own!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great burger in a bowl!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love being able to customize a burger, especially since it can even be done in a bowl. We love the adult shakes. Yum! The onion rings are great too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent place, friendly prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

One of the best hamburgers I had.
Reasonable prices. The only problem is that the wait is really really long on a rainy days when outside seating is not available.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Counter also viewed

 

Been to The Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Counter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.