We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hamburger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Counter

The Counter
369 California Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 273 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Hamburgers
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stopped by The Counter and we're glad we did. The hamburger's my family and I had were delicious. It's crowded even on a Sunday night but the food is great. We also had fries and the shoestring onion rings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stopped in on a tip from trip advisor. We were in the area at lunch and a burger sounded good. Well it definitely was all that we hoped for. The burger had that little pink in the middle with a large variety of toppings to choose from, delicious. Oh
And don't miss the Parm Fries, so good, well worth the calories. The negatives were it's very noisy and a little pricey, but it's Palo Alto. We will return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Burgers with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Make it yourself. Add your own toppings. The antithesis of Father's Office, this is a burger joint that caters to the cravings of its customers. Both points of view are valid. The Counter is a place one can go crazy with creativity. Make it your own!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great burger in a bowl!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love being able to customize a burger, especially since it can even be done in a bowl. We love the adult shakes. Yum! The onion rings are great too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent place, friendly prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

One of the best hamburgers I had.
Reasonable prices. The only problem is that the wait is really really long on a rainy days when outside seating is not available.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Counter also viewed

 

Been to The Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Counter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.