We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Convenient but technology and maintenance issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Palo Alto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Palo Alto to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3945 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
crownsville, maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and Convenient but technology and maintenance issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here because the price was right for a week long stay over Thanksgiving visiting relatives in Palo Alto.. The phone rang in the middle of the night a couple of times-I ended up disconnecting it but cell phones did not work in the rooms-had to go out to the middle of the parking lot! Wifi was fine. Toilet backed up and I had to call the front desk twice to get someone to come to fix it. A maid came and handed me the plunger!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mountain View, California, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you visiting the stamford or any particular event near Palo Alto, this is the place you want to stay at. If affordable, comfortable and reasonable. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. I love the morning breakfast with more than 10 options. Ample car parking, clean room, handicap rooms available as well. If you need anything at this place, just ask for it and it will be done.

Room Tip: Get the rooms at first floor on the back of the motel where there more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted by dirty sheets, if you know what I mean. The tv didn't work for the longest time. Oh yea and the sheets had man stains on them from previous tenants. Don't stay here. I don't know why we stated here apparently it had a good review. But this place is a real hole. I haven't gone outside yet to see if my car is still there. Hopefully it is.
Please do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else that you don't have to sleep in your sleeping bag on a bed with dirty sheets.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burtski9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The area is a little sketchy but everything else was okay. We had a room with two king size beds o it was nice and big. The bathroom, like everyone else said, has the sink outside which was kind of weird but it didn't bother me too much. Good water pressure in the shower.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank legsandalcohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Take this review with a grain of salt, if you read my other ones you'll know I normally stay in 4-5 star hotels, and it's been a while since I've stayed in a hotel like this. That said, I certainly have stayed in my share of 1-3 star hotels in my day, so I figured I was up for this.

The exterior of the hotel looks fairly modern and welcoming. When I arrived at 1:30pm I was told there is no early check-in and you can pay extra to check-in at 2pm, so I left my car to go eat lunch and come back to check-in at the normal time (3pm). Yes, even though Palo Alto is the suburbs, there are a decent amount of restaurants within walking distance of this hotel. That said, it is not really walking distance to Stanford or University Ave (about a mile or two).

The room itself was ok. Typical older style motel, with dark carpet and beddings that hide whatever nastiness it has experienced over the years. I kept my socks on and it was ok. Until I stepped in something wet near the sink. Gross. I'm assuming it was water from the cleaning people, but from that point on I moved to a "shoes on" rule.

The thing that drove me the most nuts with this hotel is the curtains. It's the style of hotel where your window is right by a public walkway, and yet it was impossible to fully close my curtains.

There is free Internet, although it got laggy, and at times it wouldn't connect, but all in all usable to get some work done. I got a good night's sleep and for the most part the room was nice and quiet. You could hear people walking past in the morning so don't plan on sleeping in (especially if your curtains don't close!).

I'll probably try another hotel next time I'm in Palo Alto, but if you get a good deal here, it's not terrible.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ry0ohki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stay here a couple times per year due to it's Stanford campus proximity. Always clean, quiet, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. Above most Comfprt Inn's we've stayed. Breakfast is consitent, and healthy.

Room Tip: Upstairs, toward the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is an older style motel. When you open your room door you are either in the parking lot or on the first floor balcony (there are 2 floors). Ask for an upper floor so that you don't have to hear the people above walking around. The walls are thin (as many of these older style hotels are) but the air con unit is loud so you won't hear a thing with that turned on.

Positives;
Fantastic high speed free WiFi. Nice and safe, both the rooms and the car felt safe there. Great mattress. Good value overall. NOt a bad location on El Camino Real within walking distance of some good restaurants (no need to drive).

Negatives;
Almost zero AT&T mobile coverage in the hotel, while this isn't the fault of the hotel it's worth me pointing it out because it sucks if you are on AT&T. I had to use Skype for all my calls. Here's the worst thing; when I arrived I spent a couple of hours walking around the room doing things and on various calls with the office etc., all barefoot, then when I went into the shower I had to wash the black off my feet. The ONLY place I could have picked up that grime would be the carpet in the room. Now, to be fair to the owners, perhaps all hotel carpets are like this, because tons of people walk on them every day with shoes on, it's just that this was the first time I ever noticed it in my many years of travelling. I wonder how often they shampoo the carpets (maybe the owner can reply).

Overall, I will stay again because I like the location and it's a nice place, but I will wear socks when walking around the room next time!

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#10 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#3 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.5 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#16 of 26 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Palo Alto

Address: 3945 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Palo Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join the Comfort Inn Stanford University in Palo Alto, a convenient, family and pet friendly Northern California coastal hotel near San Jose Airport, Stanford Shopping, and Paramount's Great America, for exciting West Coast getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing