We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Dining!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Strada Ristorante Italiano

La Strada Ristorante Italiano
335 University Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301
(650) 324-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Strada Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #90 of 312 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Florence Street
Transit: The Palo Alto Caltrain stop is just a few blocks away.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very good food, enjoyable dining experience. Deliciously light lasagna! Interesting drinks. This restaurant is a favorite for my daughter and her boyfriend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    32
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must visit when in Silicon Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

La Strada is a must when we have to travel in Silicon Valley. Delicious food, great atmosphere and attentive service. Mushroom pizza is fragrant with truffle oil, meatballs reminiscent of childhood meals in the homes of Italian friends. Haven't been disappointed in all the years we've eaten here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I had set lunch a few days earlier at La Strada and was impressed with the pasta and the pizza particularly, so suggested La Strada for dinner with some frends a week later. We were not to be disappointed with the dishes we ordered for dinner, the mushroom pizza, porchetta pizza, salmon sautéed and the lamb chop were surprisingly good. My favorite was the porchetta pizza which I incidentally also had for my lunch earlier, it was really good. We had the tiramisu cuppa and soffiato fonden f dessert and they were god too.

Don't be fooled by the smaller crowd in the restaurant compared to the restaurant beside it, the food is good and so is the ambience, service and the pricing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best seats in the house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We got in around seven on a Thursday night and with a choice of seats on the patio or at the chef station (view of everything being cooked), the outside option never had a chance. At our perch we got to see the chef's, sous chef's, waiters and busboys in action and it was amazing how fast dishes were arriving after the order was put in. This is a well oiled machine and only one thing was needed....a review of the food. We had soup and a salad, the porchetta and lamb chops (night's special). Everything was cooked very well and the taste was delicious. All was washed down with a Barbera from the Piemonte region. My friend had the dessert of Chocolate Souffle which was rich and a meal unto itself. Next time though, we will book as it was lucky we got the good seats.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, Wonderful atmosphere; Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Restaurant was a bit busy on Friday night. The Service was a bit slow but gracious...
The Appetizers were Super....we had the Bruschetta and the Meatballs. The entree was excellent....We split it because the Sea Bass was about 16 inches long. Wonderfully grilled and moister than Lavanda Seabass. The Waitress also changed our side from Arugula to Asparagus and doubled the amount for no charge....We were so full we brought the Panna Cotta home to enjoy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Strada Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to La Strada Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Strada Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.