We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK for a Motel 6” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Palo Alto

Motel 6 Palo Alto
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Motel 6 Palo Alto to your Saves list
Motel 6 Palo Alto
4301 El Camino Real, US 101/Bayshore Freeway at San Antonio Road, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was OK for a Motel 6”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I was invited over to this property when my grandparents were staying here for my graduation. It is just you're typical Motel 6. No bells and whistles, just the basics you would expect- 2 king sized beds, air conditioner, desk, and televisions. There is also windows facing the parking lot and pool. It was way to cold to use the pool. They also raised the price due to Stanford Graduation. It is the only local hotel that accepts dogs (The glass-slipper does too, but they charge for it), which is helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This motel 6 is located on el camino real, a short walking distance to CVS pharmacy, San Antonio Shopping Center (Sears, Walmart, Trader Joe's and many more!), and Stanford Shopping center (a short drive away with all the major department stores). Enjoy the bowling alley right next door at night. A friendly and knowledgeable staff will take care of your every need- even if you decide to extend your stay the next morning!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I came from Europe for three weeks in Stanford and stayed all the time in Motel 6. Fot quite modest price (~ 55 $ without tax), you don't get any equipment (fridge or cooker) but otherwise I had no problem. Room was big and clean, service daily. You can do your laundry in coin-operated washmachine and dryer, you get reasonably fast wi-fi internet for 3 $ a day, personnel is friendly and helpful. I got room by El Camino Road which was quite noisy but I don't have problems with sleep in noise - if you do, you should probably mention to get a room further from the highway in your reservation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Every year my grandparents come and visit my family. While there was summer left, they invited us to come swim on a cool morning. Me and my siblings went with my granny to the Motel 6 where there was friendly staff. The room was on the 3rd floor. The room smelled funny because of dog food and stains on the carpet (Motel 6's I have been to in the past has allowed pets) . The rooms were tiny and did not have any balconies. No big deal. The pool area and water was clean, but they do not heat the water. (Go figure! Its a cheap motel) If you are allergic to pets and are not used to cold pool water in the morning, disturbed by people smoking cigarettes, Then do not stay here. Above all, Its a basic hotel for a great price. I would like to visit this site next year. :-)

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We were excited to stay here for a couple of nights because our apartment was being fumigated for termites. We wanted an enjoyable few nights from a second point of view in Palo Alto. What we discovered, however, changed our lives. For the better!

When I arrived at the Motel 6, I was greeted at the door by a motley bunch of ragamuffins who were smoking cheap cigarrettes. The room is spacious and clean, its spaciousness augmented by the spartan wall adornments, but with the peculiar scent and feel of having been dirty in its earlier days. Stuck in his little office, the front desk agent (Binod) was idle all night and when I went to go see him about the WiFi access he was almost too excited to talk to another human being. And here's a juicy tidbit: the king-size bed is actually two twin beds conjoined.

All in all an enjoyable and friendly experience. Boy the price was right!

  • Liked — price, pepole
  • Disliked — dirty rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

I lived here for SIX months. Considering the location, this is a good value. Yes, there are zero amenties; yes, it's not very clean. But if you're not spoiled and don't require luxuries, this is your spot. The lowest rate is around $47. You can pay an extra $5 to get a fridge + micro. oven. The front desk help and maids are very friendly & helpful, considering what they get paid. One problem here is that Motel 6 allows pets. So if you're fearful of or allergic to animals, DON'T STAY HERE. Rooms that have housed pets can smell disgusting, but management is pretty responsive about cleaning or moving you to a cleaner room. They will even steam-clean upon request. If you just ASK, they will make an effort to give you a cleaner room. In the entire time I stayed here, I never had a problem with noisy neighbors or fleas. Summertime is especially good since their pool area is spacious and VERY clean. Almost all guests here are nice, but this buget inn does tend to attract a scuzzy element. I would NOT stay here if I were a young woman traveling alone. Bowling alley w/ full bar, Dennys, Thai restaurant right next door.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2006

My husband and I were here on business for 4 days. The laindry room was filthy and melted crayons were in the dryer. I could not do laundry. The first day, I kept getting fleas on me. I picked off and killed enough of them to show the manager, so that she would believe there was a problem. They tried to blame it on our pet. (We don't have one.)They gave us THE ROOM NEXT DOOR with an ajoining door. I guess fleas cannot get under it. She apologized and said she would have the room exterminated right away. (Ten minutes later, a man checked in and was given the same room!) Our second room had fleas also. We checked out the next morning early and moved 2 doors down to the Oak Motel. We got wireless internet, micro and fridge, and a clean comfortable room for the same price.

  • Liked — Checking out.
  • Disliked — Fleas.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you have pets with no fleas, they will get them here.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palo Alto

Address: 4301 El Camino Real, US 101/Bayshore Freeway at San Antonio Road, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Motel Six Palo Alto
Palo Alto Motel 6
Palo Alto Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Palo Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.