We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated decor, Noisy, but otherwise unremarkable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dated decor, Noisy, but otherwise unremarkable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

While attending a meeting at Stanford, I stayed for a few nights at this hotel. Overall, it was exactly what I'd expect from a Sheraton--generally nice, but with nothing particularly interesting. The room was a good size, and my bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately, my area of the hotel is along side a train station that meant frequent trains rumbling by, blowing horns, and ringing bells. I would try to avoid the rear of the property if you can. In addition, it looks like the hotel decor is perhaps 15-20 years old. Starwood folks: if you read this, it is definitely time for some updating. (Though I wonder if they are deliberately trying not to outdo their more expensive sister property--the Westin--which is immediately next door. While this hotel theoretically has a good location, in practice it is a long walk to the main portion of the Stanford campus, and the train tracks make getting to downtown Palo Alto difficult as well.

So while this hotel was "fine," I'd probably try out some other area hotels next time I'm in Palo Alto.

Room Tip: Avoid the rear buildings as the trains are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    138
    137
    73
    27
See reviews for
66
49
43
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Palo Alto, for all of its money and its association with what I consider to be the top University in the country, is still a small California college town, albeit with some swank stores downtown (and then there are the malls...). The Sheraton (and its more expensive clone, the Westin, right next door) is directly across the boulevard (El Camino Real) from Stanford and so is a snap to walk into campus down that famous Palm Drive into the campus. A 5 min walk gets you to the Caltrain station and barely 5 min more into downtown Palo Alto, meaning you can easily stroll to dinner from the hotel. The hotel has a small bar, nothing much to note, a nice pool, and a large breakfast room which serves a decent breakfast. The rooms are getting old and there is no wifi in the rooms (which is silly in this day and sillier being next to the University) although if you want to lurk in the lobby, there is. The prices are less than at the Westin if you wish to compare. The hotel really needs to update its rooms but all that said, it is still a comfortable stay. Again, the main thing is the very close proximity to the campus, which can't be beat and Sheraton knows it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ground floor by the pool (no privacy with noise) and unless you like trains, avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great location for downtown Palo Alto, Stanford & the many close by corporations. Nice atmosphere and good service in the bar.

Negatives - walls are paper thin, the need to pay for parking & it is quite dated at this stage.

Overall, though, I enjoy staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location is splendid, the exception would be rooms located facing the rear, being close to the quite noisy Caltrain. The hotel is not worth the asking price: the place looks and feels quite tired. The staircase was outright filthy - maybe everyone uses the (very slow) elevator? Unlike all cheaper locations, wifi is extra, and each device used was charged, despite the promise of the opposite when checking in - this was corrected when I spotted it at checkout, however. I was also cheated of the "Green Choice" vouchers, the staff apparently had no idea what this was, so I gave up. Parking is also extra. If travelling by car, many locations in the vicinity offers far better value, and does not charge all the extras.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stay at this location for business travel. The best feature is its walking distance to downtown Palo Alto and nearness to Stanford. The rooms are your normally appointed Sheraton rooms and the wifi is not free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as it was recommended by conference organizers. My room was not very clean and the property is definitely tired. The saving grace is that the bed was great. Considering the nightly rate I paid, this was not a good value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,UK
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Given the price i paid i was somewhat relieved to be upgraded to an executive room, this was large with a very comfortable bed and access the exec lounge on the 4th floor which was ok for free drinks and free evening nibbles with a decent (free) continental breakfast. I did also have a big breakfast in the main grill which was good also, fresh eggs, omlettes, waffles etc.
Niggles...despite the check-in briefing regarding maid service (put a card on your door to refuse maid service and get 500pts per night as a reward) i didn't put the card out anytime but still got no maid service, ever ! Not a big deal, i had plenty of towels etc.
Room was a bit on the noisy side, not ideal if you're jet-lagged and get woken in the early hours easily....the air-con unit had to be switched off as its automatic on/off was really noisy. It rained one morning and the dripping onto the external unit was really annoying !. Some early morning noise from delivery/service vehicles around 5:30am most days. But the bed was very very comfortable i have to say !
Nice looking outdoor pool which i imagine would be great in summer as the pool bar is right alongside.
Reception staff were friendly, plenty of parking, and internet is $9;95 per day if you don't pre-arrange to have this FOC as part of booking terms.
As with other reviews i think this place does have some tatty edges, noisy corridors, chilly spaces as doors are left open, and a slightly "eighties" feel to it. Might try the Westin next door if i come back anytime soon.

Room Tip: End of corridor rooms should be a bit quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.