We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good shower for short people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great location. Good shower for short people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a visit to standard. The location is excellent. Walking distance to downtown PA and campus, and easy access to public transportation.

At $350/night it's pricey for a Sheraton, but it's reasonable for the area.

Theonly complaint is with the shower. The water came out about 5 feet above the tub floor. As a 6 foot guy, I had to bend down to wash my face and hair. Not a big deal, but not the great experience I've come to expect from Starwood properties.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    159
    171
    93
    35
See reviews for
80
58
46
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Beds are awful...very noisy and squeeky. There is no where outside of the bathroom to put on makeup..no lighted mirror, or dressing table at all, and there isn't room in the bathroom for more than one person. Trains are noisy, just behind the property...all day and night.
Had trouble with the business center while trying to check in and print boarding passes, and Adan was very rude and not helpful at all. Numerous guests have complained about him.
Property is not a regular Sheraton, it is independently owned.
Location is good, but that is about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having visited the Sheraton before, I was aware of the excellent location, large rooms, and attractive lay-out with the pond and the pool in the centre.

This time I booked an Executive Floor room, which includes Executive lounge access.
The room itself was good: A massive bed, excellent quality mattress and generally very spacious.
The absence of a minibar and a safe however is curious to say the least. That said, you get complimentary bottles of water in the room. The room looked towards the pond, so it was the quiet side.

The Executive Lounge is however an embarrassment. It is basically 2 converted hotel rooms with some garden furniture in it. It looks and feels cramped, the snacks available are so-so, and it has very limited opening times. Where other hotel chains offer a real lounge with working and meeting areas, full on buffets etc, this was well below par.

A free breakfast is served in the lounge, but this is a continental choice. Again, not like the others.
We had breakfast in the main restaurant every day, which is the second best breakfast I have experienced anywhere around the world. The choice is huge, the cooks make your omelettes/waffles etc to order, with any ingredient you like. In one word magnificent! Coffee and juice service is continuous, staff is great, and the cost id quite OK as well (18$).

So, it is simple: If you want the best located hotel in Palo Alto: Take a normal room (not Exec Floor), and get a fantastic breakfast in the main restaurant. This combination is still 40 $ cheaper than the Executive Floor including their paltry breakfast.

All in all, Sheraton remains a good bet if you avoid the Exec Lounge.

Room Tip: Inside looking towards the ponds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was a little old as mentioned in other reviews, but was clean and comfortable. There was some style, not just a plain box hotel and the room had nice amenities and lots of pillows. The dining options however left much to be desired (for dinner). The hotel restaurant was't at all iteresting and also over priced. The breakfast was Ok, but $18 dollars.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had reserved a quiet suite in this hotel. When we arrived we were directed to a suite which was on Camino real, with the club doors just accross the corridor banging as of 6:00 am until 10:00pm with people getting in and out the club. It was not possible to move to another room.
Typical old hotel. Next time we will stay at the Westin which is more modern and next to it.

Room Tip: Choose the Westin next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Concierge, check in, check out and housekeeping all great service. When checking in I mentioned I needed quiet and they put me on the 4th floor away from the lobby 0 mission accomplished! A good business hotel with Starbucks right in the lobby. Location was great, right across from Stanford University and walking distance to a high end mall (lots of shopping :)). However as an hotel hotel, the carpets were dirty (stained) and the air conditioning unit was loud but worked well. I do recommend this hotel as a business hotel, if I were coming out to San Fran for vacation I would look for a more 5 star.

Room Tip: ask for the 4th floor away from the lobby - its a walk but its worth it for a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

On the second leg of my business trip in the US I stayed here for a week.

The place has exceeded all of my expectations, I don't know what the negative reviews are on about!

The receptionists and efficient and friendly, checked me in smoothly and made everything clear.
The concierge was supper helpful too, collecting my washing on Sunday night and getting it back to me Monday afternoon.

I needed to send my absentee ballot via recorded post and he called UPS and Fedex for me to check how we could get it done.

Room service was prompt, friendly and the food was smashing.

The beds are hugeeeee!! I got some of the best nights of sleep in months in the bed, it is super comfy, huge, and soooo warm!

There is no noise at all at night and every morning I awoke to a crisp and prompt newspaper at my door.

There was Starbucks coffee in the room with take away cups....did someone say winning?

The weights in the gym can get a bit crowded, and I had to go at 6am/9pm if I wanted to use them.

All in all I wish every hotel I stayed at for work was like this.

p.s. The outdoor pool is heated :D

Room Tip: Get a garden facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#8 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#9 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#3 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#2 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.